We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza”

Mother Bear's Pizza
Ranked #3 of 373 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Mother Bear's, we have established ourselves as an icon of the Bloomington, IN community and welcome many students, alumni, and local residents into our restaurant every day. Customers are welcome and encouraged to bring a Sharpie to your name on our wooden booths. Our unique dining environment also features an eclectic collection of local art. We are best-known for our traditional pan pizza but also offer sesame-seed thin crust and deep-dish options. All three choices are made with our homemade dough! Not in the mood for pizza? We also offer crisp salads, hot sub sandwiches, wings, and pasta dishes. To complete your meal, try one of our warm, homemade brownies. Ordering for carry-out or delivery? Try our most popular deal: the Munchie Madness! A 10” one-topping pizza, an order of breadsticks or cheese bread, two homemade brownies, and a 2-liter bottle of Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, Sierra Mist, Dr. Pepper, or Mountain Dew, all for $12.95! We also serve beer and wine with many selections from local breweries. We are consistently named the Best Pizza in Bloomington by Indiana Daily Student Poll, and People Magazine named us one of America’s Top Nine Pizzarias! Whether you're new to Bloomington or just stopping for a visit, please stop by to enjoy what we have to offer!
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My daughter and I were there for a ballet audition for the college. Had to eat quick to make the tour time and the waitress was very helpful. We ordered breadsticks with pizza sauce then we had 1/2 spinoccoli and 1/2 treasure of Monte Cristo. It was delicious!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pfo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 519 of 661 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Not only is this the best pizza I have ever had, the service was outstanding. My familty and I (13 of us) went to Mother Bears before an IU basketball game, so you can imagine how busy this place was. The service was top notch and fast, once seated, we had our pizza, bill, and drinks to go all in just under 1 hour. My family and I will make this part of our annual tradition before going to the IU games from now on!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank srz4778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Always have to make a trip to Mother Bear's Pizza when in Indiana... Best Pizza in Indiana .....Great food... Great atmosphere..and WONDERFUL MEMORIES of College Days Gone by...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Wow, the best pizza in Indiana! It's really nice to hear that. The next time you feel like reliving some great college memories, be sure to stop by!

All the best,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is the second time we've had pizza at Mother Bear's - and we'll definitely be back! The pizza was delicious - not one visible speck of grease. The Greek Salad was ordinary, until we tasted the Balsamic vinaigrette (served on-the-side without even asking!). Three Floyd's Alpha King on the beer list was simply icing on the cake! The waitress was very friendly, and service was perfect - not slow, not rushed. I have just one disappointment, and that is I was unable to get the recipe for the Balsamic vinaigrette dressing so I can make it at home. Maybe if I keep going back….

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WorkingMomIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Glad to hear you and Jacob think our pizza is delicious! From our salads to our beers, we want our customers to enjoy everything we serve. We can't give away the secret to our Balsamic vinaigrette, but we'd be happy to serve it to you anytime! :)

Take care,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

To me there are only three pizza options in Bloomington and this is the best. Avers does some cool gourmet pizzas, but for standards, this is the one. Fun atmosphere, reasonably priced, fast & friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank B-1978-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thanks so much! It's an honor to know you think we serve the best pizza in B-town. Hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Bear's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Mother Bear's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing