We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome pizza!”

Mother Bear's Pizza
Ranked #3 of 355 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Mother Bear's, we have established ourselves as an icon of the Bloomington, IN community and welcome many students, alumni, and local residents into our restaurant every day. Customers are welcome and encouraged to bring a Sharpie to your name on our wooden booths. Our unique dining environment also features an eclectic collection of local art. We are best-known for our traditional pan pizza but also offer sesame-seed thin crust and deep-dish options. All three choices are made with our homemade dough! Not in the mood for pizza? We also offer crisp salads, hot sub sandwiches, wings, and pasta dishes. To complete your meal, try one of our warm, homemade brownies. Ordering for carry-out or delivery? Try our most popular deal: the Munchie Madness! A 10” one-topping pizza, an order of breadsticks or cheese bread, two homemade brownies, and a 2-liter bottle of Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, Sierra Mist, Dr. Pepper, or Mountain Dew, all for $12.95! We also serve beer and wine with many selections from local breweries. We are consistently named the Best Pizza in Bloomington by Indiana Daily Student Poll, and People Magazine named us one of America’s Top Nine Pizzarias! Whether you're new to Bloomington or just stopping for a visit, please stop by to enjoy what we have to offer!
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I haven't eaten here in 10 years and while we visited campus for a basketball game we had to stop and eat! The place is HUGE now that it has expanded. The pizza is the same as I remember when I went to college at IU. Good crust, great sauce and lots of toppings. Service was great. Bathroom was clean. There were some loud college kids next to us, but they were just having a good time and I do remember being their age! One of them apologized for being so loud, so that was nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ColieandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks for coming to see us! I'm happy to hear that even after 10 years, you still think our pizza is delicious and our service is great. That's the goal! It was great having you back, and I hope you get a chance to visit B-Town again soon.

Take care,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 481 of 613 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been to mother bear's on numerous occasions, and it never disappoints. The pizza and breadsticks are always excellent (the pizza is a deep dish type). The prices are very reasonable. I agree with other posts that the parking can be an issue, and the wait can be long during peak hours; plan accordingly. Pitfalls of being so successful!

Thank Indy-JMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks so much for recommending us! It's nice to hear you and your husband are never disappointed by us. It's our goal to serve fresh and delicious pizza for an affordable price.

FYI, parking is available Mon-Fri after 5pm and all day on weekends directly south of the restaurant. You can park in the "At Swain" parking lot during these hours. Hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is a college hangout joint. The food was excellent. I had a pizza that I split with two different variations and they both were great. A small bar area, but they mainly wanted to serve beer. Great college hangout right across IU's campus.

Overall a neat place to go.

Thank robtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We went here one night and tried the spinoccoli pizza (spinach + broccoli). It was absolutely delicious! The drinks were also pretty big, ie they were definitely worth it :) The staff was also very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was very family friendly and had a truly comfortable feel to it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KaylaAnn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Wow, absolutely delicious! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the Spinoccoli that much, Kayla. Hope you get a chance to visit again soon!

Take care,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

They deliver too, but we always dine in when we crave Mother Bear's. It's an event. Great atmosphere with students, professors and locals thriving alike within.

Thank maestrohound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks so much for recommending us! It's nice to know you enjoy dining in to experience our fun, energetic atmosphere. Next time you're in the mood for pizza, be sure to stop by!

Take care,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Bear's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Mother Bear's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing