We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloomington's Finest”

Mother Bear's Pizza
Ranked #1 of 344 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ask anyone in Bloomington where you can get the best pizza and they're sure to say Mother Bear's Pizza. We've become an institution, and many students and locals alike call our restaurant home. Our crust sets us apart, but our toppings are the freshest ingredients anyone can come by. Not in the mood for pizza? We also have crisp salads, hot sub sandwiches, wings, quiche, pasta dinners, such as Chicken Parmesan and Spinach Lasagna. And don't leave without grabbing a brownie for dessert! Better yet, try our Munchie Madness: a 10" one-topping pizza, an order of breadsticks or cheese bread, two homemade brownies, and a 2-liter bottle of Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, Sierra Mist, Dr. Pepper, or Mountain Dew, all for $11.95!We also serve beer and wine!We are consistently named the Best Pizza in Bloomington by Indiana Daily Student Poll, and People Magazine named us one of America's Top Nine Pizzarias!We take Campus Access and deliver until 3 a.M. Thursday - Saturday!
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
154 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Bloomington's Finest”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Without a doubt, if you are looking for premium pizza (or sandwiches or wings or a beer or two) after the football game or after dropping the kids off at college, this is the place to visit. In fact, if you are looking for a pizza road trip, this place comes highly recommended.

Mother Bear's Pizza offers a wide variety of menu items in addition to all types of pizza. The chicken wings are among the best that I have ever enjoyed.

The place is often very busy with a wait for a table, but well worth it. The Divine Swine (pizza) is my favorite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    142
    28
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
161 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good college pizza”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an institution in Bloomington, and it holds up fairly well. Deep dish version is good, especially the veggie Straits of Gibralter, thought the service is average at best. Will often see parents taking their college kids there. Best to park elsewhere and walk -- it's a college town you should be walking! - since it is had to find a spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mez1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. Considering you enjoy our pizza, I'd like to learn more about why you only rated us 3 stars. We want to do what we can to make sure our customers have a fantastic experience.

Hope to hear back from you soon,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Pizza and Ambiance in Bloomington”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Yes this is college hangout that's a little worn, but the service is good, the ambiance is great, and Pizza is pretty darn good especially if you try some of the more adventurous offerings.

Best is your allowed to write your name on the walls.

The biggest con is parking, as I am not sure how you can park anywhere near Mother Bear's anytime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMcLeanVAFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for recommending us on TripAdvisor. It's nice to know you enjoy our ambiance and appreciate our wide selection of toppings. FYI-parking is available Mon-Fri after 5pm and all day on weekends directly south of the restaurant. You can park in the "At Swain" parking lot during these hours.

All the best,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
262 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“not the best pizza I ever had but the selection is second to none”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

almost all locals and families and students. I was sent there by Hampton inn crew. I left my cell on my table and sure enough it was there when I returned. I did see some interesting deep dish pizza. You probably need to go with a group but they will do half pizzas' something I have not seen in years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to know you enjoyed our pizza and appreciated our selection of varieties and toppings. If you have any suggestions for us to improve, please let us know.

All the best,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Maybe I'm Missing Something”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've been here twice. I just do not get this place. I do not understand why they do so well. The food sucks, the service is not good, the atmosphere is awful, there is no outdoor seating, the beer selection sucks, and parking is impossible before 5pm (when you can actually park on the surrounding streets). Why are they so popular?
We've got a number of pizza places in Bloomington. I don't think this is the worst, but it's far from the best, regardless of what kind of pizza you like. The sauce is too sweet, the cheese is a poor quality blend, the toppings are not interesting and are not good, and the crust is flavorless. They do give you choices on sauce and crust, but I've tried a couple of both and the other options are worse than the standard ones. They're also not that cheap. You can get a pizza to fill up two people for about $15. There are daily specials, such as their wing night, but they're cheap about it and, even that wing night has the caveat that you must purchase a drink.
The atmosphere is what really gets me though. I understand the nostalgia factor, and that this looks like a "small town" (Bloomington has almost 100,000 people, guys) college place. But why not throw $500 down and fix your floor? Why not put in an effort to make it not so restrictive, uncomfortable, hot, and loud? Maybe it's the fear of change and that change would take away the nostalgia. But, if you're like me and did not go to IU and have no memories of this place, then you probably will not get it, just like I don't get it.
Even though I really don't like this place, I'm sure I'll be here again, just because I know too many people who do like this place and will want to come here soon. I really have tried to like it, but I don't, and I'm voicing the dissent here. If you really want pizza in Bloomington (overall, it's not very good), there are better options: Butch's, Max's, Macri's, even Upland. There's just no reason to come here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank colinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Colin,

I'm truly sorry to hear you've been disappointed by us, especially considering many of your friends enjoy coming here. Even though we're a neighborhood pizza joint, we put a lot of love into our cooking. If you're not a fan of our pizza, I recommend you try one of our sandwiches or salads the next time you visit. I'll also keep your feedback about our atmosphere in mind, and see if other patrons experience similar issues as you. Please let me know which area of the floor needs attention. We're currently undergoing an expansion so I apologize for the mess.

Best,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Bear's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Mother Bear's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing