We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pizza & wings”

Mother Bear's Pizza
Ranked #1 of 349 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Mother Bear's, we have established ourselves as an icon of the Bloomington, IN community and welcome many students, alumni, and local residents into our restaurant every day. Customers are welcome and encouraged to bring a Sharpie to your name on our wooden booths. Our unique dining environment also features an eclectic collection of local art. We are best-known for our traditional pan pizza but also offer sesame-seed thin crust and deep-dish options. All three choices are made with our homemade dough! Not in the mood for pizza? We also offer crisp salads, hot sub sandwiches, wings, and pasta dishes. To complete your meal, try one of our warm, homemade brownies. Ordering for carry-out or delivery? Try our most popular deal: the Munchie Madness! A 10” one-topping pizza, an order of breadsticks or cheese bread, two homemade brownies, and a 2-liter bottle of Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, Sierra Mist, Dr. Pepper, or Mountain Dew, all for $12.95! We also serve beer and wine with many selections from local breweries. We are consistently named the Best Pizza in Bloomington by Indiana Daily Student Poll, and People Magazine named us one of America’s Top Nine Pizzarias! Whether you're new to Bloomington or just stopping for a visit, please stop by to enjoy what we have to offer!
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good pizza & wings”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very good pizza and wings. The price is not too bad at all. May be the best pizza in Bloomington. I do not think you are a townie if you have not written something or your name on a table or wall at Mother Bear's Pizza

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kristina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks Kristina! It's nice to know you think we're one of the best pizza places in Bloomington. Hope to see you back again soon!

Best,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    147
    29
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best pizza yet”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Really amazing food. The place is crowded and rightfully so. We had the misfortune of sitting within 100 foot of the most obnoxious college nerds possible. Anyone within 100 feet could hear these dorks screaming, competing for attention. Embarrassing to witness. Pizza was worth it though. Soooo good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiImChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Wow, best pizza yet! Thanks so much. Hope you get a chance to visit again soon!

P.S. Sorry for the nerds....it's a college town.

Take care,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington IN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Pizza”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place offers several unique topping combinations with names like Dante's Inferno, Devine Swine and the Monte Cristo. Can't say anything other than you have to check this out. Valentines Day offers heart shaped pies and they open up for free Thanksgiving dinners as management's way of giving back. Class act to say the least. Have yet to be disappointed at Mother Bears. Its a great atmosphere. The old wooden booths are decorated with guest graffii messages.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank costa_rica_villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for recommending us on TripAdvisor! I'm happy to know you've always had a great meal with us. Of all the pizzas you've tried, which is your favorite?

Looking forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I visit Bloomington for business and was told I have to try Mother Bear's pizza. It definitely was worth stopping by. The pizza was perfectly in the middle, not too thin and not too thick. It had a very good tasting crust and sauce. They had a deal going where you could get 2 drinks, either 2 salads or breadsticks, and a medium pizza for around $15. This was a great price for all that you got. The place had a nice atmosphere. It does sit basically on IU's campus, so there isn't much parking at all. We actually walked quite a distance to get to the restaurant, but it was worth the walk.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks Jason! I appreciate you giving us a try during your business trip. I'm glad to know you enjoyed both our pizza and our fun atmosphere. I hope you make us one of your regular spots whenever you visit Bloomington!

Take care,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always delicious!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A must when we're in Bloomington. The tricky part is finding a place to park, but the pizza is definitely worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Mother Bear's Pizza, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks Jessica! Hope to see you back again soon!

Best,
Mark Hajduk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Bear's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Mother Bear's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing