We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!”

Janko's Little Zagreb
Reserve with OpenTable
Janko's Little Zagreb is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 349 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 6th & Morton
Description: Janko's Little Zagreb is the place for the best steaks in the Midwest. Located at 6th and Morton in downtown Bloomington, Indiana, Janko's Little Zagreb has been the home of tender, thick, daily cut steaks and an impressive selection of fine wines and beer for over 25 years. Open Monday through Saturday for dinner, Janko's Little Zagreb also serves excellent fish entrees and top-notch St. Louis-style barbecue ribs. Vegetarian meals are also available. Reservations are accepted and encouraged, and the atmosphere is casual and lively.
Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a special spot when we go to Bloomington..........make it a point to make sure we have time for a nice steak and bottle of wine......both are incredibly well priced!! And don't forget to order the meatball appetizer.....you'll want more!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGnome1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    76
    45
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Longs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Saved the evening by going here!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I haven't been to Janko's in a while and thankfully ended up here for my sister's birthday.
The shrimp cocktails are wonderful, 5 very large shrimp with some pretty spicy cocktail sauce. My nephews orders the meatball appetizer, which they loved. I tried one and thought that it was very spicy, but it had a very good flavor. Everyone's steak was cooked to perfection. My filet was the best steak that I had had in Bloomington in a very long time. While they are expensive, you have to realize that you get what you pay for and after having some pretty bad experiences at other steakhouses in Bloomington, it was nice to see that after all of these years Janko's is still the place to go for the best steak in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardenerBloomington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfort,ky
Level Contributor
132 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Only for football players!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food is simply awful.
The steaks served are of worse quality (?) then that of the local supermarket.
The wine sweet and cheap.
A place for people who absolutely nothing about good food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank miamisaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, FL
Level Contributor
232 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“Absolutely inedible”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stopped in on a Monday night. Thought we could get some Croatian or Greek food. Neither. Became obvious that this place prides itself on being a steak house.

I ordered a stuffed bell pepper and my wife had the duck. Both tasted like they came out of the kitchen of a cheap chain. The duck was raw in the middle and sent back. it came back a few minutes later and had not been grilled further. Told the waitress and she asked "have you had duck before?" Well, we have, hundreds of times. It was a travesty.

This place prides itself on tons of food heaped on plates. That would be nice if the food was tasty or even healthy. It is neither. Prices are high.

Our waitress came back later and apologized for the food and gave us a piece of free cheesecake. I am diabetic, it went untouched.

Bloomington is full of great eating places. This is NOT one of them.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BarefootTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food- bar atmosphere”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

These people were so nice to take a last minute reservation.
Place was packed. We waited less than 5 minutes for our table.
The food is wonderful. The meatballs are wonderful with a little kick. Beer selection is above average. Salads were also very good. Menu appears pricey but the four of us ate for leass than
100 dollars by sharing. THe portions are large. Enjoy!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank triplover555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Janko's Little Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing