We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good steaks!”

Janko's Little Zagreb
Reserve with OpenTable
Janko's Little Zagreb is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 345 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 6th & Morton
Description: Janko's Little Zagreb is the place for the best steaks in the Midwest. Located at 6th and Morton in downtown Bloomington, Indiana, Janko's Little Zagreb has been the home of tender, thick, daily cut steaks and an impressive selection of fine wines and beer for over 25 years. Open Monday through Saturday for dinner, Janko's Little Zagreb also serves excellent fish entrees and top-notch St. Louis-style barbecue ribs. Vegetarian meals are also available. Reservations are accepted and encouraged, and the atmosphere is casual and lively.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good steaks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We typically go to little Zagrebs on our trips to bloomington. Excellent steaks but a little pricey

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zaz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    72
    43
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old school steakhouse. Unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is one of my dad's favorite hangs from his days as a student at IU. Great steaks, with plenty of leftover potential.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Synguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Plan to share an entree”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Little Zagreb has always been a favorite with me and a must do when I am in Bloomington. The food portions are huge - my mother ordered the stuffed pepper which came with a meatball; the stuffed pepper was enough for two at least, and the meatball, another two. Although this restaurant is known for its steaks, I always order the meatballs & my leftovers can feed me and a friend the next day. You can just order the meatball appetizer and a side potato. The salad is not memorable - but the blue cheese dressing is. I love the wine list - nice choices by the glass as well as half bottles.

The servers are great. They are helpful and friendly and they work together to take care of the customers. It is an upbeat and happy wait staff that makes you feel right at home. This is a casual place with no pretensions. I love the atmosphere although it has been very busy the last few years and it is crowded and noisy, but still a lot of fun. If it's busy, don't plan to have any quiet conversations. I recommend making reservations.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RIki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is 2 of my children's favorite resturarnt in Bloomington when Dad is paying. They were both IU grads. The servers are great. The steaks are wonderful except they are so large. Easily 3 people could share the steak for one. I had the kabobs which was more than enough especially after sharing a shrimp cocktail and the spicy meatballs. The one downside is they do not have draft beer. They have wine and beer by the bottle. They have a good beer selection.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diver910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best steaks in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Don't come here expecting a fancy meal. You will get the best steak in town, along with a baked potatoes, salad and grilled bread.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SandiG680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Janko's Little Zagreb also viewed

 

Been to Janko's Little Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing