We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and seated right away”

Michael's Uptown Cafe
Ranked #2 of 344 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Uptown Cafe has been a Bloomington landmark since 1976. We serve Breakfast, Weekend Brunch, Lunch and Dinner. We are also known for our beverage program - serving fine wine and spirits, and craft beer and cocktails.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and seated right away”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wow is right. Great menu, good variety of food! Pricey, but worth it! My daughter and I had lunch here, very enjoyable. Kudos to the Chef/Cook!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    166
    43
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
160 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small Menu, Good Food, Not as Cozy”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It has been awhile since we were at Michael's Uptown Cafe and it has grown since then by quite a bit without being crowed.

The menu is small but everything we had was excellent with large portions. The server was able to quickly find out nutritional and allergen information for us when we asked with out any visible annoyance. The food came in a timely fashion and everything was as ordered. Yes, it is a bit on the expensive side for Bloomington restaurants but definitely not the most expensive in town.

The larger space allowed the tables to be placed further apart than in most restaurants so you felt like you had a bit of privacy until you glanced up. The result was an oddly non-cozy atmosphere but not a disappointing one. Friday evening when we went we hoped they'd have music but they didn't.

The menu is probably not child friendly nor is the environment. This is an adult getaway and that suited us just fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetammyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
470 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Disappointing since renovations ...........”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Doubling the space is very nice - same atmosphere - but sound is very "live," creating a not-so-nice visiting atmosphere. Biggest disappointments? Giant hike in prices AND the Michael's home fries are GONE - replace by giant globs of greasy potatoes - YUK! I wonder if anyone cares......... I know some of us really do! Our server said I was the second person to complain that morning! Would complaining to the management make a difference? I'll try it. Very sad because this place used to be our very favorite go-to breakfast joint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for brunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I always order the creme brulee French toast and the potato omelet with an extra side of potatoes. There are probably lots of other good things on the menu too, but these things are so good that we can't bear to order anything else! For meals that come with a side of toast, try substituting a biscuit because the toast is, unfortunately, pretty tasteless. If coming for brunch, come early and be prepared to wait, especially if there's something going on in town. Saturday brunches are often less busy than Sunday ones.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheesqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best Crab-Cakes you'll ever eat”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The menus selection is fabulous and tasty. The crab-cakes are the best you will find anywhere; whole pieces of crab meat, minimal binder, all nicely sauteed in butter. Atmosphere is welcoming and the service is outstanding. This is definitely a place to eat if in Bloomington.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7469moog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Uptown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Uptown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing