We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Tamales are excellent”
Review of Feast Bakery Cafe

Feast Bakery Cafe
Ranked #17 of 349 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
146 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Tamales are excellent”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This restaurant has perhaps the best tamales that I have ever eaten. The Green Chili Cheese Tamales are to die for. My wife and I take a cooler from Indianapolis to buy their tamales to have them on hand when we want a great meal at home. I would have given this restaurant an excellent rating but I am not a fan of some of the other items on their menu. As for the bakery items, gluten free does not have to equal tasteless. This restaurant should stick to making the best tamales in the world and offer both gluten free baked goods and some with taste AND gluten. Everyone is going to die from something and if gluten kills me, so be it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLunedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Inventive menu, terrible acoustics”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our party had the vegetable and pork tamales, as well as the ground lamb burger: they were all good, but what made the dining experience unpleasant was the din of the conversation that made it seem like Feast was a railroad station. Of course, the uncontrollable screeching and screaming of a baby didn't help (some mothers are totally unabashed when their babies act up). Despite the good food, we will not go back until they control the noise level, and remind mothers who bring their infants that they are responsible for not disturbing other patrons. (Some people are not grown up or responsible enough to be mothers: they don't realize that their "adorable" rapscallions are little terrorists to others who'd like a quiet place to have lunch.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank so-sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Overpriced, new menu”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had stopped for a quick dinner or a bakery item and coffee several times in the past few years. Although the menu was limited and a little pricey, the food was well prepared, healthy, and unique. The place is small and cozy. Recently, my husband and I were in the neighborhood and thought we'd stop for a quick bite. Wow! The menu has changed. The tamales that used to be around $8 were now $15 and that was the least expensive thing on there, except for maybe the soup, which they were out of. The thing is, you expect those prices when going out for a nice dinner, but from a bakery/cafe, you do not. We headed to the Scholar's Inn Bakehouse downtown for a more reasonably priced sandwich/soup combo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
2 Thank sunlovinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tamales? in the Midwest?”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tamales in the midwest? Excellent salsa in Bloomington, IN? Yes, it's true and lots of other delights. Whether you want breakfast, a snack, lunch or dinner, the Feast is a good choice. Reasonable prices, local foods, good sweets. Good sandwiches, excellent fish, great spanikopita, hot chocolate is wonderful. Casual dining. Only problem is that there's not much parking in the area. It's an unassuming place with a varied menu and delicious food! One of my favorite Bloomington restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Underrated Gem- A Little out of the Way”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After a week of unscientific completely subjective breakfast sampling in Bloomington, this place wins the highest marks. How it ever appeared so low in the rankings, confuses me.

The food is interesting- not only the baked goods, but the signatures tamales, and the egg dishes/.The presentation is thoughtful and the portions ample. The coffee is the best I have had in Bloomington with a cappuccino that bears a passing resemblance to the Italian original (way too big, but this is the Midwest) The decor is urban and deft (not cluttered and twee). Maybe a little too much salt but aside from that I think this is a tribute to people who thought and care enough about food to put in the extra effort. The smart cosmopolitan clientele of Bloomington deserve to have high quality unpretentious food like this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcraigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feast Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Feast Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing