We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected place in central Indiana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tibetan Mongolian Buddhist Cultural Center

Tibetan Mongolian Buddhist Cultural Center
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unexpected place in central Indiana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The brother of the current Dalai Lama lived here for many years. It's tucked away in a residential neighborhood, very green and peaceful. There seems to be a number of folks ready to explain the various aspects of the temple and stupa. I thought it was quite interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debora_R_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A bit of Buddisim in Indiana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

It was such spiritual place. I love the scrolls, the trees, the prayer flags. It was so not-Indiana. They also host retreatsand I would love to attend sometime.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zvillemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
209 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“sight worth seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Complex of buildings serving the Tibetan Buddhist community in Bloomington (larger than you might expect). Very pleasant tours are give on appointment.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ipeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valparaiso
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cultural Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had previously stayed on this property in the cabins. I would recommend a visit to the grounds to learn more about the Buddhist culture.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisasValparaiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A view of classic Buddhist cultures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is an outstanding cultural center. It was begun by the 14th Dalai Lama's brother, the late Thubten Norgay, who was a professor in Uralic and Altaic Studies at Indiana University. In 2007, when His Holiness, the 14th Dalai Lama, gave a 5-day teaching/seminar at IU, the Mongolian culture was incorporated into the center's interpretive. It is a very serene, welcoming area just south of Bloomington, in a wooded, hilly area. Residents are very willing to explain both their cultures and Buddhism. They have a temple, stuka and yurts, all of which may be visited. There are also cabins which may be rented for a personal retreat. We are quite fortunate to have such a center which is welcoming and where we can learn about a very strong cultural/religious group.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathen71940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibetan Mongolian Buddhist Cultural Center also viewed

 
Bloomington, IN
 

Been to Tibetan Mongolian Buddhist Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing