We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay!!”
Review of Suites at 118

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suites at 118
Ranked #4 of 9 Bloomington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Stay!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Suites at 118 in February, 2013 when we were in Bloomington for a basketball game. Not only did Mark and Abbey make us feel right at home, but they also helped connect us to some great basketball tickets! Our room was very nicely decorated and comfortable, and my husband was pleased about the big-screen tvs! The bed was extremely comfortable, and the linens and towels were great quality. The kitchen was stocked with sodas, beers, snacks etc that were very reasonably priced. The location was perfect - just a short walk to campus, Kirkwood and Walnut Streets. There were several great restaurants, bars and shops within walking distance. When we make return visits to Bloomington we will most certainly stay at Suites at 118 again! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonV825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
27
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Suites at 118 was a great place to stay. It is conveniently located on the square. Mark and Abbey are extremely welcoming. The suite was amazing. It was very spacious and clean. We would definitely stay at Suites 118 again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous100408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were celebrating my daughter's engagement and thought what better place to celebrate then Bloomington. My daughter met her fiance' in B-town while studying at the university.
We booked the whole floor and everything was just wonderful. Abbey and Mark were so welcoming and accommodating! The suites were warm and inviting. The suites are ideally located downtown close to fantastic restaurants, shops, the university.
We liked the art work so much, we left several bare walls!
Thank you Abbey and Mark! We cannot wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you are lucky enough to secure a rezzie at Suites of 118, you will soon realize that you have received a very special gift! We had the most comfortable sleep, in sheets and bedding that I thought were my own. The contemporary appointed family room, eat-in kitchen, bath and bedroom furnished with the all-important wide-screen HD TVs were immaculate, roomy and give you the feeling of being at home. Fresh towels and well-supplied bath and kitchen. Ideal location with proper security. My experience was so pleasurable that I was sure to contact owners and residents, Abbey and Mark, to book my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I reserved the Courthouse Suite and the Wylie Suite for the Saturday night following the Ohio State vs. Indiana football game in Bloomington for my brother and our friends (IU alums and Ohio State alums/fans). The Suites at 118 also has a room that Mark told me is more of a normal sized hotel room with one bed. This room also has a party door that connects to the Wylie Suite (they do insulate the party suite door with foam when two different people reserve the Wylie Suite and the other room). I never did see this "hotel room," but if it is like the suites on a hotel room level, I'm sure it is a winner as well. The Suites at 118 has a nice dorm/condo type of feel when you walk up the stairs and down the hallway to the three different rooms.

My friend was hesitant to stay here because of the price for the night ($375) per room, but he went along since he already committed to going to the game. He happened to be the first of our group to arrive at the Suites at 118 as I was fighting the Bloomington game day traffic grocery shopping for our football tailgate. He was able to get the keys to the rooms and immediately sent me a text message informing me how amazing the suites are at this location. He quickly changed his tune for staying at Suites at 118 because of the rooms and the location (across the street from the Monroe County Courthouse, half a block north of Kirkwood & Walnut). Each suite has one bedroom and a living room/kitchen that is one large room. Because of the design of the building, my eyeball test says the Courthouse Suite has a little more room. The Courthouse Suite is also the only unit that has windows.

Regardless of the window situation, Mark has each room decorated with art work that you may purchase and the furniture is nice as well. The furniture is not for sale. Very comfortable rooms.

From a guy's perspective, the living room in each suite has about a 50" HDTV mounted on the wall with HD cable service (VERY nice touch to actually have the HD subscription... often overlooked in the "hotel" world). The Courthouse Suite also had a similar sized television in the bedroom. The living rooms in the Courthouse and Wylie Suites have a fold out sofa bed couch.

The kitchen has everything you need cooking-wise with a scaled down oven, but a full fridge. Mark even stocks the fridge with craft beers (very reasonably priced at $3 considering hotels often charge a fortunate for a bottle/can of beer), sodas and even has a basket in the kitchen with snacks for purchase.

There is no parking on site, but you are walking distance to parking garages in the area. If you stay during the weekend, Bloomington doesn't ticket on the street starting at 5:00 p.m. Friday through I believe 8:00 a.m. Monday (normally a two-hour parking zone during weekday business hours).

I met Mark as he was outside sweeping the sidewalk when I came back later Sunday because Ieft something behind in my room. I had a great conversation with him for about 20 minutes as he wanted to know what he could do to make it a better stay when really, it already was a great stay for all of us.

Mark and his family live on the third floor of the building (the rooms are on the second floor). Good news, if you are in the Courthouse Suite, the third floor bedrooms are in the back of the building so if you happened to get loud with your group, they probably will not hear you on the third floor. Mark says it was designed with that in mind...

Side note: as far as I could tell, there is no elevator. You need to walk up a flight of stairs to reach the second floor where the rooms are located.

While I'm usually loyal to Hilton properties, the Suites at 118 is too nice to pass up in Bloomington - especially if you have a group of people. Beautiful suites, great location and service.

Room Tip: Stay in the Courthouse Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrandall_47408
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

There are many great reasons to stay at the Suites at 118. The location is fantastic and makes for an easy walk to and from many of the best restaurants and bars in Bloomington. The decor and overall appearance of the property was great as well. Everything was clean and looked brand new. The free Internet and big screen TVs were great as well although we did not have time to use them much. My wife and I stayed in the Courthouse sweet and it met all the hype. I just wish we had been staying for a whole weekend rather than one night. We would definitely recommend staying here and hope to do so again in the future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rrandall_47408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springport, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The courthouse suite is the nicest room I have stayed in in the last 17 years in Bloomington. Easy access to Kirkwood and the rest of downtown. Loved the art! Very comfortable. Quiet for sleep. Fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#4 of 24 in Bloomington
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#2 of 24 in Bloomington
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington
Courtyard Bloomington
#12 of 24 in Bloomington
229 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at 118? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at 118

Property: Suites at 118
Address: 118 N Walnut St, Bloomington, IN 47404-4911
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suites at 118 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Bloomington, Indiana while staying at the height of comfort in the heart of town. Mark and Candace are eager to provide you with everything you need to make your stay in Bloomington one you will not forget. With versatile spaces, the Suites provide perfect accommodations for game weekends, extended stays, wedding parties, sorority reunions, and family getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Suites at 118 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing