We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Like a 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bloomington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center
Save
You added Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Like a 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My son and I stayed for a tour of the school.The front dest staff were very pleasant and helpful. I was shocked how big and clean the room was. I felt like I was in a 5 star hotel. They even had expensive bath products! I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teabop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Teabop we are so happy we could meet and exceed your expectations on your most recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in our guest service and hope your son decides to attend IU for his college education. Have a wonderful holiday season!

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Biddle Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    326
    124
    25
    14
See reviews for
506
105
96
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was my first visit to Bloomington for a conference, and the hotel was extremely pleasant. First and foremost, all the people, from the front desk to the cleaning staff was just awesome, helpful and friendly. The room was nice, spacious and felt very clean. The only critique I have is that, for the price, the rooms are a bit dated. Overall however, I had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faidra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Faidra P it was our pleasure! Thank you for your very kind compliments of the hotel and staff alike. I will be sure to share your glowing review with them. We hope when your travels bring you back to the area you stay with us. Have a fantastic holiday season!

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Biddle Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I really could not have asked for a more professional, positive experience at the Biddle Hotel and Conference Center. From the warm smile at check in from the lovely Elle (front desk attendant) to my departure the next day with Matt (Front Desk Manager). I had a comfortable bed, a clean room including the bathroom, and a peaceful atmosphere that combined the charm of Bloomington with the prestige of Indiana University. What a great night, I recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you Landon S for the wonderful review. We were thrilled to have you stay with us and hope you make us your first choice when visiting Bloomington again. Our team works very hard and I will be sure to recognize them with your very kind compliments.

Best Regards,

Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Biddle Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently attended a conference at Indiana University and stayed at the Memorial Union. As the title says, the room, if small with a double bed, was scrupulously clean, and the staff was great. A HDTV would have been nice, but I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carbondonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for excellent review Carbondonkey. We sincerely appreciate the kind words about the cleanliness of our hotel and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Biddle Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked an "economy" room for a Saturday night in October, and expected this to mean what it usually does- a room that's seen better days, in need of an update. I was so pleasantly surprised to open my door to a lovely, fresh, very tastefully decorated room. Every detail- from the window valance, to the fluffy white comforter, to the nice piece of local art was beautiful. The windows actually opened- such a rarity in hotels- and it was delightful to hear the chiming of the old clock tower on campus and have fresh air, rather than recirculating. I loved the old marble walls and brass mail chute by the elevators!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you E Adele S for your wonderful review. We love everything about being on the Indiana University campus as much as you did. When you stay with us in the future please don't hesitate to ask us about our favorite places on campus. We are always excited to share our history and culture!

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a perfect location. You can walk to IU auditorium and take in a play or walk downtown for dinner or just take in the fall colors on campus. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were in town to attend the BMOC breast cancer fundraiser and we were so happy we could stay on campus. There is even a Starbucks in the Union which my daughter enjoyed having in the morning. Having two children attend IU --I have stayed at a number of hotels in Bloomington, and this is my favorite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkrash614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you bkrash614! It was our pleasure to be able to have you stay with us during your most recent visit to Bloomington. We look forward to welcoming you again, perhaps for a future Hoosier basketball game. :)

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had requested that Greek (old-time) music be playing upon our arrival to the room and that a chocolate cupcake be waiting. However, I didn't really expect it to happen. It did. In addition, what a stunning view from this elegant old building. Later, we walked past college lectures, as we trekked to the many and varied restaurants inside the hotel.The Biddle is my new favorite hotel. And it is right in the middle of this fabulous campus.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a charming rural-type cemetery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelis2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so very kindly for the wonderful review. We are excited to become your new favorite hotel in Bloomington and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#4 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#7 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 900 E 7th St, Bloomington, IN 47405-3905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#7 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Indiana Memorial Union- Biddle Hotel and Conference Center. Nestled in the heart of Indiana University our Bloomington boutique hotel offers 189 finely appointed guest rooms and suites, which include classic antiques, luxurious linens, signature bath products from Gilchrest and Soames ®, flat screen televisions and spacious work areas.Situated inside the stately and elegant Indiana Memorial Union, this upscale Bloomington hotel is perfect for travel to Indiana University, and is located steps from the Sample Gates, and the famed Kirkwood Avenue and Downtown Entertainment District offering a diverse restaurant scene, arts and entertainment, and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel Bloomington
Indiana Memorian Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing