We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Bloomington
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We recently stayed at TownePlace Suites and attended an IU basketball game. We booked a 2-bedroom suite - and that is exactly what it was! It was perfect for us, living area, kitchen, bathroom with separate toilet/shower area and 2 nice sized bedrooms! It was convenient, clean, and quiet, quite a few eating options within walking distance as well. It was the perfect night away for us and shared the cost of a hotel room while still having our private areas! Breakfast was okay, I'm not a huge breakfast person, but there was something for everyone, cereal, hot sandwiches, oatmeal, OJ, etc. A great stay - when we go back to Bloomington we look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaHarkless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that our two bedroom suite met your needs and expectations! Please come back and visit us next time you are traveling to Bloomington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    54
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
86
13
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here on a weekend visit to see family. Got a great room with a decent price. Staff was friendly and courteous, location was great, room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Nice location as well close to restaurants and IU.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to see us next time you are in Bloomington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent two weeks in this hotel and the entire time is sounded like a basketball team was playing above me, and the gentleman snoring in the room next door sounded like he was in my bed. We had several hours of no power, not hotels fault, and an extended time without hot water. They posted it would be out between 9am and 5pm. So I worked my schedule around that and at 6:30 there was still no hot water. So I sucked it up and took a cold shower only to have mud water poring on me half way through the shower. When asked for manager assistance, no reply for the 4 days that I had left there.

This tells me that either the staff is incompetent or that the manger isn't willing to resolve hotel issues. Either way I will never go to that hotel again. After being a platinum member with Marriott for over 5 years, this is hands down the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in.

If you choose to go there, then bring some ear plugs, a generator and your own hot water heater.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review. I apologize for what you experienced with the shower. We did our best to inform all of our guests ahead of time of the necessary work to be done to our water heater by handing out a letter to each room. In this letter we were sure to emphasize that once the hot water was turned back on, our guests should let it run for a few minutes so that the discolored water could work it's way through the system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tough call on whether to give this long stay hotel a 3 or 4. In the end it just was not special enough to round up from 3.5

Pros were a comfy bed, quality TV and picture, full kitchen and friendly staff. Good work area and internet.

Cons were very weak breakfast and breakfast area, cheap kitchen appliances and minimilist kitchen supplies/dishes/pans etc. Too cramped to be practical to use fold out couch.

To me this one comes down to will you use the full size fridge, stove and dishwasher and what rate you get on the room.

Location is fine with some restaurants within walking distance and shopping close by. About 12 minutes drive in low traffic to IU.

It was clean and quite and I could easily have given it a 4 despite the cons because the rate for longer stays booked in advance was about that of a normal hotel. For me the breakfast and feel of the cheap appliances just did not justify 4 stars. The appliances worked well enough and if you get a good rate and plan on cooking your own meals this is an excellent choice as Bloomington hotels are not that great and rates are high.

A "moderate long stay hotel" and it gets a moderate rating.

Room Tip: Try and get the discount for multiple day stay. Pool is outdoor. Only one elevator. Get what breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreindsofMishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel. We are pleased to say that we have recognized many of the points you mentioned and are addressing those during our current renovation. Upon completion of our renovation we will have a new breakfast room with expanded food options and all of our suites will be refreshed to include brand new appliances. Hopefully you will come back to try us out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This property had very friendly service, comfortable rooms, and a relatively convenient location to get into downtown Bloomington and to IU's campus. Unfortunately, we were in the area at the height of Fall foilage season, so all the hotels in Bloomington were overly expensive that particular weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel met all your needs, Unfortunately, rates can be a little high during the summer and fall with so much going on in Bloomington but hopefully you will be back when it is a little more calm in Bloomington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here a few weekends ago visiting family in the area. It was a great experience. Everyone was friendly and helpful as previously stated. Next time we come through the area we will definitely stay here. Thank you!

Room Tip: We had the top floor and it was quiet. No noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBumES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look foward to your return next time you visit Bloomington. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the same friendly service that you had anticipated from reading our prior reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were visiting colleges for our son - and enjoyed our one night stay at this property. We had a one bedroom suite for my husband and I as our son used the sofa bed in the living room - spacious and comfortable for all 3 of us. Nice breakfast - very clean room and hotel. Hannah at the front desk was so personable - and helped us find a fun college pub for dinner and to experience the campus life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnmommykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
It is so great to hear that Hannah was able to direct you one of our great local dining options in Bloomington. Out town has a lot of great places so we hope you will return to see us and try out some more of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#5 of 24 in Bloomington
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Bloomington

Property: TownePlace Suites Bloomington
Address: 105 S Franklin Rd, Bloomington, IN 47404-5296
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomington Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing