We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed & Breakfast”

Southern Comfort Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southern Comfort Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 9 Bloomington B&B and Inns
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived at Southern Comfort after dark. We had traveled over 7 hours to reach Bloomington to visit our son and daughter-in-law. Carole greeted us at the door along with her three dashsunds. After some introductions, we were guided to our upstairs room. It was a beautiful room that was bright and cheery with a comfortable king bed and fresh baked cookies on the night stand. We had complete run of the upstairs since the other room was empty while we were there. Every morning we were welcomed by the three dogs as we waited for breakfast. I have been to many B&B and Carole's breakfast was the best. Each day it was different and all were awesome. My favorite was the apple muffins, with the banana's foster french toast as a close second. During breakfast, we would watch the birds visit the feeder outside the window. As we awoke the last day at Southern Comfort, a beautiful snow continued to fall. Looking out of the upstairs window, with a few inches of snow everywhere, made this stay even more special. We are from south Louisiana and do not see a scene like that very often. Overall, I would highly recommend this B&B. You can't go wrong with this place. It has an excellent innkeeper, great service, and A+ accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scokog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in the carriage house in Bloomington for graduation weekend. But we've also stayed there during our son's 4 years at Indiana. Carole couldn't be nicer if she tried. Her personality is great. She's eager to please and eager to chat with her guests about anything. Her breakfasts are great and she makes most of the things herself. Her home made granola is fantastic. Have had a variety of things for breakfast over our stays and loved them all. And her dachsunds are so very cute. Would recommend it to anybody staying in Bloomington. Just far enough from town for total quiet but close enough to drive anywhere you need.

Room Tip: Carriage house is actually a separate building off the main house. Has a full kitchen along with a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbertell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here two nights while visiting IU. We had the two rooms on the second floor (sunrise and sunset) and shared the large bathroom with our son. There was a small refrigerator for our use too. We were warmly greeted by Carole and her three dachsunds. They barked but calmed down immediately and were never an issue. We are dog lovers so having this joyful trio was a nice add to our stay. Breakfast was very accommodating both mornings-- it was our choice and lots of items to choose from. Carole is a terrific hostess. We'll know next year if IU will be regular stop for us but if it is, we will stay here again!

Room Tip: both rooms were great--couldn't hear any of the hwy 46 traffic or others in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at the Southern Comfort Bed & Breakfast in Bloomington in March when we took our daughter to visit Indiana University. Our room was charming, the breakfasts were amazing, there were home-baked treats every afternoon, and the rates were very affordable. You couldn't ask for a more gracious hostess than Carole. She was warm, friendly, and welcoming. We are already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed in one of the private cottages with a living room/kitchen (with daybed) and bedroom. We were welcomed with a plate of freshly-baked cookies; the next morning there was a huge brunch which kept us through dinnertime. Breakfasts the next two mornings were substantial enough to ensure we only needed a snack early afternoon. The room stayed warm through sub-freezing temperatures and was fairly well-insulated from traffic noise. Internet and Comcast cable TV are included. Don't even consider a hotel in Bloomington unless you really need to be within walking distance from campus...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swineshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

After a few days on the road staying in uniformly blah hotels, I was ready for the change we had planned in Bloomington. What a treat! Carole and her adorable trio of dachshunds made my sister and I feel right at home. We were greated with warm cookies and an enthusiastic welcome. Our room was spotless and beautiful with lots of clever and comfortable touches. And the breakfasts.....wow! Such a great place to stay at a better price than those impersonal hotels. My son will be at school at IU for a few years, and we'll be back to Southern Comfort B&B when we visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I'm originally from Lansing, IL which is right on the border of IL and IN. My daughter went to IU for undergrad and I spent many a road trip to see her at school. This was my ACE in the hole! I have spent so much $$$ to go to Sonoma & Northern California Wine Country which are always fabulous but this place has it all as well. Wine. Cheese, and a cozy B&B feel right in the middle of the crossroads of the country. My daughter has since graduated and moved to Boston and my husband and I are talking about still vacationing down here for a weekend because we already miss it. KUDOS to the Southern Comfort B&B!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
360 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cascades Inn
Cascades Inn
#15 of 24 in Bloomington
38 reviews
5.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#2 of 24 in Bloomington
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
7.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
4.8 mi away
Showers Inn
Showers Inn
#1 of 9 in Bloomington
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Bed & Breakfast

Property: Southern Comfort Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6056 E State Road 46, Bloomington, IN 47401-9266
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomington
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing