We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great review”
Review of Economy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Economy Inn
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The room was clean, great shower, the rate reasonable and the manager friendly and helpful. The location was not as close to the city as we would have liked but it was worth the distance driving. It's easy to miss as not right on the highway but don't miss this motel.

Room Tip: We would stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daziest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

As I have stayed at a lot of super fancy hotels for business, I didn't know what to expect when I came across the Economy Inn located in Bloomington, Indiana. All of the hotels were booked in town, and I had to speak at an Indiana Univeristy Business Event, so I decided to stay here. I have never come across better staff. I have realized in recent traveling how important this is. The manager will cater to any of your needs. The rooms are clean and I honestly have no complaints. It is a wonderfu little hotel to visit and I highly recommend this place if you are considering visiting Indiana University's Campus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GEWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I had stayed here before 2yrs ago. I found it by reading a good review about it at Tripadvisor. Still clean and quiet and I realize how much I wish all motel & hotel rooms came w/a microwave & minifridge like the rooms here do. I stayed during the heat of summer last time and my air-conditioning worked great. This time it's winter and my heat in room worked great. Mold and bug free. It's cheap decor makes it a place I wouldn't spend a romantic night at w/my lady. But you can't beat the advertised rate $32 & up for what you get. Complaints- Bathroom window was clear glass w/sheer curtain instead of smokey glass, so I closed bathroom door & turned on hot shower, presto! window steamed up and no one could look in. They have WiFi now and down the street from fast food places and a Kroger. I would not come back to a place that was nasty or treated me wrong, so for me to stay here twice is saying alot! Bring your own shampoo & don't forget your toothbrush I don't think they have extras.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndianaDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I stayed in Bloomington for work back in November and I can't be more positive about the Economy Inn. After a misunderstanding on how long I was to stay (my fault) the management quickly offered to comp my room for the extra night that I stayed.

The room was exceptionally clean and there was free wifi, a microwave, and a small fridge. At a very good rate for the week it was a great value. This is a motel so if you are looking for something high class with room service and a great location with a quick walk to campus (south of town or about a 10 min drive to the heart of Bloomington) then this is not the place for you.

I would def. recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maine20jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

I have been staying at the Economy Inn for almost 3 months now while in town for some training and I must say it is much better than I first expected. When you first pull into the parking lot you think that it will be some roach motel that charges by the hour, but that is far from the case.
Don't expect 5 star accommodations, but you can't beat the bang for the buck here. The rooms aren't big, but are comfortable. They include a small fridge and microwave, approximately 60 channels of cable, desk space, and a couple of chairs. Coin laundry is available during limited hours, but bring your own quarters, as there is no dollar changer. The manager/owner here is great. He is more than willing to help you any way he can and work with you if there are any issues. They don't have a website so you will have to book your room over the phone.
Overall, if you are looking for high class accommodations with a spa, pool, and room service - look elsewhere. If you are looking for a low price and a decent room, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank U6431ERgregb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
5.4 mi away
Cascades Inn
Cascades Inn
#16 of 24 in Bloomington
47 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
375 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 24 in Bloomington
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Bloomington
Days Inn Bloomington
#22 of 24 in Bloomington
275 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington
Courtyard Bloomington
#14 of 24 in Bloomington
237 reviews
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Address: 4805 S Old State Road 37, Bloomington, IN 47401-7437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range: $52 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional motel property features 20 rooms and 20 one-bedroom apartments is located on the southern end of Bloomington, just three miles south of downtown and six minutes from Fairfax State Recreation Area at beautiful Lake Monroe. Nightly rates begin at $40 per night. Weekly rates are available from $195 and up. Efficiency and one-bedroom units available, all with free local calls and digital cable TV. Rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Laundry facilities are available on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing