We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, excellent service”

Bartlett's Gourmet Grill & Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Same owners as another listed restaurant - Bistro 157 in Valparaiso
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb food, excellent service”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great meatloaf, roast beef, fish and chips - a great discovery - would definitely go back there first thing if we are nearby.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank capracornio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    46
    18
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manager treats customers like they do not matter!!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Terrible experience! My steak was charred. Our waiter, who also turned out to be the manager, offered to "get me something else." When the bill came, both the first and second items were on it. The manager absolutely refused to remove even the first item and made us pay for a burned steak I did not eat!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterrr211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely Noisy!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had dinner here on a recent Saturday night. The food was okay and the service was okay, but it was so noisy inside that we could not hear each other speaking across the table. To make matters worse, we were seated right below a speaker playing music. We have been wanting to try this restaurant for quite some, and I think we ended up a little disappointed. Not sure if we would go back again or not.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDDChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Where is fish i fish taco?”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was my first time eating here. I love fish taco's and this is probable the worst I have ever had.

Seared Cod filet wrapped in flour tortillas with shredded cabbage, pico de gallo and lime, served with seasoned black beans and corn tortilla chips with salsa verde That is their description on the menu. Very little fish and could not find the pico de gallo. The chips were good and warm. The black beans were dried up. Just not much flavor over all.

My son had fish and chips and said it was pretty good. Portion was fine on that;

We were there about 1115 so they had brunch menu too. It was Sunday and my husband and daughter-in law both had chorizo burrito, Large portion husband stated very bland.

Service was fine and food came out quickly

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cindygad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ecclectic tavern”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Ate here for Sunday brunch. Nice sized portions. Large interesting beer selection. I'd rate the food we had as fairly average.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Just_A_Bubba_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartlett's Gourmet Grill & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Bartlett's Gourmet Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing