We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clock Tower Inn Berne
Ranked #1 of 3 Berne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We come to Berne a couple times a year to visit family. In the past, we have always stayed at the Schug House, a Bed and Breakfast that is the only option other than the Clock Tower in town. We visited over the Thanksgiving holidays, and Schug house was rented out completely by a family who does it every year. We booked several rooms at the Clock Tower for other family members who were joining us. The inn recently switched owners and went through major upgrades and it shows. I had heard so-so things about it before (when called the Black Bear Inn). We really enjoyed our stay there!

One thing that I love about it is that it is pet friendly. There is only one pet friendly room, so be sure to reserve it specifically if you're bringing a pet. Not only is the pet friendly room carpet less, but the room is by the back door, with a very large expanse if grass out back. My dog was off leash without any problem while we visited, and loved running around back there.

Our room had 2 beds - not much choice because of the pet friendly room. It was very clean and comfortable. The room was a good size, with a table and chairs, mini fridge/freezer, microwave, nice sized flat screen TV, DVD player (with DVDs available at the front desk), black out drapes and coffeemaker. The bathroom was small but clean. The beds were so comfortable! The bedding was nice and the comforters were not gross like in some motels. You could tell thought was put into it. The only thing we would have changed was that there was not a dresser or closet - just a small area to hang clothes with a small shelf above it. One of the 4 rooms we had did have one.

Breakfast was not a huge spread but enough for us - yogurt, bagels, toast, biscuits, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, pastries, coffee and juice. It was good and free - I love free.

There is an event room that you can rent, but it's open to guests when not being used. It has tables and chairs, comfy couches, a fireplace and a huge (60inch?) HDTV. One night we got a DVD from their library and watched a movie there. It was really nice!

The people working there are great. Very friendly and helpful! From the housekeeping to front desk, everyone was nice.

We will definitely stay here again, especially with our little pup, who loves visiting Berne and barking at the Amish buggies and horses that pass!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubyiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerneClockTowerInn, Owner at Clock Tower Inn Berne, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay at Clock Tower Inn. Our focus is to ensure that every customer receives great customer service and benefits. It sounds like you really appreciated the pet-friendly and free breakfast features of the hotel.

Please be sure to visit whenever you are in town again. We appreciate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 63 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a very nice experience the staff was really helpful and went out of their way to take care of us. Ernie Steiner was very good to us and took care of our large group for breakfast by setting up extra tables and chairs so we could sit together. The motel was very well kept and appealing. It was also reasonably priced.

Room Tip: we had the King bed very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerneClockTowerInn, Manager at Clock Tower Inn Berne, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for your five-star rating and for your kind words.

We try our best to have the best beds, cleanest rooms and friendliest service.

You are not the first guest to comment on how very comfortable our new mattresses are.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ernie Steiner, Manager
(260) 589-8955

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good choice in small town Indiana. New owners have invested in comfortable new beds, new carpet, paint & decent linens. Air conditioning worked great & wasn't terribly noisy. Spotlessly clean and furnished with the wood furniture of the type this town is noted for. Berne is center for Amish woodworking. The hotel color scheme is muted which is suited to this town of "plain folk". The maids arrived in the morning by horse & buggy and hitched their horse at the back end of the parking lot before entering the building. Breakfast buffet included oatmeal, cereals, granola, juice, yogurt, eggs, biscuits, sausages and gravy. Comfy lobby & small breakfast area. Managers very hospitable giving us directions to a local covered bridge and a supply of ice. Would stay here again and recommend staying here when in visiting Berne. Not many dining options on a Thursday evening. Swiss steak at Berne Family Dining was so tender and tasty that I could forgive the canned green beans. Didn't need wi-fi so no comment there. A tourist hotel in a small town provides all the basics and is clean, quiet, & comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miss_utility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerneClockTowerInn, Manager at Clock Tower Inn Berne, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for your review and great description of the improvements made and the details of our hotel.

If you would have needed WiFi, we have 15 Mb download WiFi speeds which is hard to find in most hotels anywhere in the United States.

We are thankful for our great front desk staff and housekeepers.

We hope that you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ernie Steiner, Manager
info@berneclocktowerinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stopped at this place on a whim. Best decision I've made in a while. Quite, Clean, friendly service, great amenities, and all for relatively cheap. Highly recommend, the inside is basically brand new. Five Stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerneClockTowerInn, Manager at Clock Tower Inn Berne, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for stopping at our hotel on a whim. We hope that you will have a need to stay with us again.

Thank you for your high recommendation and five stars.

Sincerely,

Ernie Steiner, Manager
info@berneclocktowerinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had a great stay. Every thing new, carpent, paint, bedding. Very clean, friendly and helpful staff. Had a very quiet and restful night. Will be staying here again !!! You don't find many places this nice for the reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank servant_45891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerneClockTowerInn, Manager at Clock Tower Inn Berne, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for your five-star review.

Our total hotel renovation is finished with new beds, carpet, paint, furniture, lights and wall hangings. We are thankful for our very friendly staff and work hard at understanding your expectations so we can do our best to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in our area.

Kind Regards,

Ernie Steiner
Clock Tower Inn
info@berneclocktowerinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent 6 nights at The Black Bear Inn last week. Let me tell you why YOU want to stay with them too.
We had to be in Decatur for a funeral. We too, have had bad experiences in Decatur hotels in the past. We arrived in Berne very late, and Joette ( helpful front desk clerk) arranged for our room keys. The hotel met our every request during our stay; whether it be a room change, a hair dryer repair, or even adding extra seating in the lobby for breakfast. Our son needed to use their conference room late Saturday night to work. They not only gave him the room, but threw a few bottles of water in the fridge for him. I know it's not a lot, but I found this very thoughtful.

The Black Bear is under new management. They are in the process of renovating the entire place. The lobby and breakfast areas are new. Many of our rooms ( with family, we rented six rooms) were updated, and looked fabulous. The decor is modern, spacious and smoke free. The beds are new throughout, and very comfortable. Yes, you may encounter building debris and
work-in-progress in the hallways, but the workers are friendly, and the renos really didn't affect our stay at all. I especially want to recognize and thank the other front desk staff ; Ernie, Becky and Shelly as well. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and professional.

We will be in the area again, I am sure, and we plan to stay again with the nice people in Berne at Black Bear Inn. They are 10 minutes from Decatur, and well worth the drive. Give them a try.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mak5361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerneClockTowerInn, Manager at Clock Tower Inn Berne, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for your very kind words about our hotel and Ernie, Shelly, Joette and Becky. We strive to be the friendliest hotel staff anywhere. We also want to understand each guests' needs and expectations and do our best to meet or exceed each guests' expectations.

Thank you for recommending us with this review. We take each review seriously and hope to see you again on a return trip to Decatur, just 10 minutes from Berne.

Kind Regards,

Ernie Steiner, Manager
Clock Tower Inn
1335 US 27 North
Berne, IN
(260) 589-8955
berneclocktowerinn.com
info@berneclocktowerinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife, son, and I stayed at this hotel over the long weekend in mid-January 2013. We have family in nearby Decatur, IN and, after many bad experiences at the various hotels in Decatur, we decided to try the Black Bear in Berne.

As discussed n previous posts, the Black Bear has come under new management. This new management is making a big effort to improve the hotel. The lobby (Ad other parts of the hotel) are currently being renovated. Our room ha a brand new mattress.

Our room was nothing fancy, just simple and nice. The mattress was very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was strong; a lot stronger than what's typically found in a hotel. The room was very clean too.

My only complaints about our room are as follows: The bed portion of the sofa bed had seen better days. The sofa itself was fine; it was clean and new-looking. When we unfolded the bed portion, however, it the mattress wa sagging. It seemed many of the springs connecting the mattress pad to the frame were missing. Thankfully this did not affect our young son.

Also, the room was not cleaned daily in a manner we expected. The bathroom was wiped down, the floor was vaccumned, and the towels were replaced, but the bed (and sofa bed) was not re-made nor were the linens replaced. This is not a big deal, but it caught us off guard.

The buffet-style breakfast was adequate. It was nothing fancy, but fancy isn't always necessary.

What was noteworthy, however, was the friendliness of the hotel staff. EVERYONE went out of their way to be friendly, courteous, helpful, and kind.

I would absolutely stay at the Black Bear again as it's a decent place with decent prices. It's really the best option available in the Berne - Decatur area as there are NO decent places to stay in Decatur.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerneClockTowerInn, Manager at Clock Tower Inn Berne, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and thank you for staying at our hotel. We appreciate your business.

The renovation of our hotel is complete which includes every square foot of the hotel. Each guest room has new beds, carpet, paint, lights, wall hangings and furniture. This also includes the sofa beds that were not up to our standards when you stayed previously. Many of our guests report that the mattresses are better than they have in their own homes.

I am sorry that your bed was not made and the linens not replaced. Even though you said this is not a big deal, we believe that it is. We cannot explain what happened on your specific stay, but we can assure you that the beds are made and new linens are provided if requested.

Our breakfast buffet includes biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, sausage and cheese biscuit sandwiches, assorted cereal, yogurt, fruit cups, toast, bagels, assorted juices and coffee.

Thank you for your strong notation concerning the friendliness of our hotel staff and that everyone went out of their way to be friendly, courteous, helpful and kind. We continually remind our staff that we want to be the friendliest hotel staff in the area.

We look forward to seeing you on a return visit to our area.

Sincerely,

Ernie Steiner, Manager
Clock Tower Inn
Berne, Ind.
info@berneclocktowerinn.com
clocktowerinn.com
(260) 589-8955

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clock Tower Inn Berne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clock Tower Inn Berne

Address: 1335 Us-27 N, Berne, IN 46711-1031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Berne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Berne
Price Range: $88 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clock Tower Inn Berne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clock Tower Inn is locally owned and managed by lifelong Berne residents and provides leisure and business travelers with simple elegance, an inviting atmosphere and personal friendly service. We have created a place where the genuine care and comfort of our guests is the highest priority and we pledge to provide the finest personal service with an uncompromising level of cleanliness for our guests to enjoy each time they stay at Clock Tower Inn. Each guest stay includes a complimentary breakfast with biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, sausage and cheese sandwiches, assorted cereal, yogurt, toast, bagels, assorted juices and coffee. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to our area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Clock Tower Inn Berne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing