We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific underground river boat tour”
Review of Bluespring Caverns

Bluespring Caverns
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Terrific underground river boat tour”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My 4-year-old son and I went on the Bluespring Caverns tour as part of the four-site Indiana Cave Trail. This one-hour(-ish) tour was almost entirely conducted on a shallow, flat-bottomed boat with just enough lighting to see around the boat. Our tour guide pointed out the more curiously-shaped formations (most of these formations get names), and he took care to ensure that we saw the cave-native wildlife like eyeless fish and eyeless crayfish.

We are rather serious "cave tourists", and this was our first boat tour. It was very enjoyable, as it shows a side of caves that you can't see when you are walking through the stalactites and stalagmites. Past the tour, there's a small gift shop in their visitor center and a nature trail hike for those so inclined.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    62
    12
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Indiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun Boy Scout overnight”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We took 11 scouts for the cavern's overnight camping experience. The total group, with the other scouts that were there, was about 50 people.

We entered the cave around 7:00 p.m. and carried our bags about 100 yards to the main sleeping area. We stayed on metal bunks that had foam pads on them and they do have restrooms available with running water. They divided us into two groups. Our group first took the underground boat tour and the two high school boys that lead this did a nice job.

Then, both groups got back together and a couple of employees gave a demonstration of caving / climbing gear. Then, our group did the wild caving experience while the other group took the boat tour. On the wild caving experience, expect to get muddy and wet as there is some belly crawling through very tight areas. If you aren't comfortable doing this, there is no problem hanging back while the rest of the group does this.

After this, we got back together as a large group and they showed us slides (literal slides, not PowerPoint) of the rest of the cave that we didn't see. We went to bed around 11 p.m. They woke us up around 7:15 a.m. and brought in breakfast, which consisted of eggs, sausage patties, wrapped cinnamon rolls, juice, coffee and hot chocolate.

They have a snack bar available inside and have hot dogs, canned drinks / water and candy to purchase.

After breakfast, we packed everything up and headed out. We were finished and out of the cave around 8:30 a.m. Overall, the boys and adults had a great time. The beds aren't very comfortable, but heck, it's a CAVE.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but not much to see”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

At Bluespring Caverns you get to explore the underground by boat. It is an hour-long boat ride through the caverns. The passage is illuminated by the light of our guide. At one point the guide turned of his light and it was pitch black. We saw a blind crayfish. The formations weren't that impressive. All in all it was an OK tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Orcalvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New experience for us”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have toured caves before but, this was the first by water. Very interesting and a unique attraction. Tour guide was a bit robotic but, still entertaining.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janmonahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a great tour and saw many cool things. My kids - 6.5 and 3.5 - had no problem with the length of the tour and found the experience cool/"a little spooky" (due to the darkness at times). We proceeded to sift for gems - of which we got quite a few- and the gift shop was full of unique items. Our tour guide was really funny and great with the kids and their "kid questions." Absolutely a great afternoon! :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 47401kb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluespring Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Bluespring Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing