We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely WONDERFUL hotel for families!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed here overnight while visiting some friends in nearby Winthrop Harbor. The check in was a breeze and the portable crib was waiting for us. We went to dinner and realized I had no clue how to set a portable crib up. One of the night clerks said "we'll go up and figure it out together". She helped me set it up for my sleeping baby and wished us a good night. The workout room is wonderful and breakfast, though the norm for a hotel was made wonderful by their cheery 'breakfast lady' with whom my son made immediate friends with. Checkout was a snap and we were on our way. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! I could not have asked for a better hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hannahbears_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 148 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2007

My family and I (My parents, husband, and 3 children ages 12, 7, and 4) spent 7 nights in this nice, good as new property while visiting family in Zion.
For our purposes the location was ideal, situated right off of Sheridan road, which goes right through Zion. A grocery store and Kmart are just a couple hundred feet away. The Illinois Beach State Park is just a minute away. Although Chicago isn't an easy drive from Zion, there is a train station less than a mile away, off of Shiloh Blvd. The train ride to downtown Chicago is just over an hour.
One of our favorite features of this hotel is the free breakfast. We were surprised to find fresh waffles (pre-measured batter is placed next to the Belgian waffle maker,) yogurt, fresh donuts from a local bakery, muffins, bagels, bread for toast, English Mufffins, biscuits and gravy, eggs, fresh fruit, a variety of cereals, milk, juices, coffee, and tea were all provided every morning for several hours. It saved us a lot of money and was considerably better than your average "continental breakfast" that many other hotels provide.
Housekeeping was great. Our room was cleaned and towels, shampoos, etc were replenished everyday. My mother, who is very friendly, introduced herself to the women who were cleaning on her floor and they often left friendly notes for her and layed out our daughters stuffed animals across the bed in a orderly fashion. My older daughter hugged them all and almost cried saying goodbye.
Although I'm not a fan of Country Style decor I was quite pleased with our room. Room 319 is an Executive Suite, with 2 queen beds in the bedroom which is separated from the rest of the suite by a glass-paned door. We had a separate sitting room which has a couch that folds out to a twin-sized bed. The sitting area has it's own television, which came in handy when the children wanted to play and watch TV while we watched our own programs in the bedroom. My mother stayed in a standard room with 2 queen beds and was pleased with the space and the price.
The pool is small but very clean and we enjoyed the Jacuzzi while the children played in the pool. We were able to access the internet from a computer in the breakfast room and there is a laundry room where you can wash your clothes.
The overall feel of the hotel is calm and serene. Many of the guests are cancer patients and their families. My father talked with many of the guests while rocking in one of the many chairs on the front porch of the hotel (my mother is a cancer survivor so we can relate) and found everyone one to be very friendly.
I will definately return to the Country Inn Suites and will most likely look to stay at other locations of the same name thanks to this experience.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JackandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Like most Country Inn and Suites, this one was very clean and comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly. Breakfast was above average with donuts, rolls, eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits and make your own waffles. Kind of a strange location .. well back into the suburban town of Zion ... no other motel/hotels in the area .. just across the road is a small shopping plaza .. with a K-Mart and a Piggly Wiggly grocery. Within 15 - 20 minutes of Gurnee Mills Shopping, but a good hour from attractions in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mao007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

We live in the area, but we had to make repairs to our hardwood floors. We had to stay away from our home for 3 days. The hotel is very inviting. There is a nice big porch with tables and rockers. The pool is clean and nice. The rooms are very clean. Our room had a living room with a t.v. and 2 couches, desk, and chair. We had a microwave and refrigerator (which really helped with our 8 month old daughter). We also had 2 double beds in the back bedroom. The staff was helpful and friendly.

This hotel is where many of the patients and family stay that are at the Cancer Treatment Center of America up the road.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2travel1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2006

The staff was very friendly and the Hotel was clean & neat... I was delighted by the large breakfast/lounge area. Nice Pool area also.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monkeimommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for four nights at the end of August. My family was visiting from England and this was a perfect location for Lake Michigan, Six Flags, and Chicago.

We were initially booked at a much more expensive hotel in the area. However, during the telephone reservation process, I was particularly perturbed by the impatient attitude of the reservation clerk. So perturbed, I decided to call the Country Inn & Suites. What a difference! Roxanne was so patient, helpful, and personable (even to the point of calling me back when she had to take care of other customers). It was at that point I decided to change my booking to this hotel.

The hotel was new this year, so shows no sign of wear and tear. Our suites were extremely comfortable and both had a refrigerator, microwave, and two TVs. A deluxe continental breakfast was included in the price of the room. The pool and Jacuzzi were large enough for this size hotel. The front porch, with wooden rockers and tables made a welcoming, friendly, gathering place. Stores are located just across the road and there are restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel is host to numerous patients of the Cancer Treatment Center of America. Patients from the center find camaraderie with fellow patients at the hotel, but not to the exclusion of other guests.

We visited the other hotel while we were in the area and knew we had made the right decision to change to the Country Inn & Suites. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area.

4  Thank BritYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion
1.3 mi away
The Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Market Square
7.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Gurnee, IL
7 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
7.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL

Address: 1100 33rd St, Zion, IL 60099-3600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Zion
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Price Range: $73 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Zion
Zion Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Radisson, Zion, IL Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing