We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best western in zion, il. is a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Market Square
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have traveled to Zion Illinois every other week for the last eight months to receive chemotherapy at the Cancer Treatment Centers of America. Each trip typically requires a four night stay at a hotel near the center. I have stayed at the Best Western, Zion Il. every time with the exception of two trips, the main reason being is that the Best Western was unable to provide a room because the hotel was fully booked to capacity. The alternate second choice facility was nice but the stays came to make me appreciate the quality of service and amenities at the Best Western as compared to the alternative. I would most certainly recommend the Best Western in Zion Il. to any traveler needing lodging in that area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketHost, General Manager at The Inn at Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We are so pleased that you find our hotel a welcome home away from home, particularly since your purpose here in the beautiful City of Zion is part of a very personal journey. Our staff takes great care to meet the expectations of our guests and your kind words reflecting their efforts will be so deeply appreciated. We hope as you continue to visit here in the coming months that you know we are always here to help with any need you may have. Take care and know you could not be in better care than with the staff of CTCA...and of course, Market Square!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very friendly staff, modern and very clean. I stayed here while visiting family, and the hotel I usually stay at was booked, so we came across this hotel around midnight. I really like this hotel and it is priced right. The neighborhood is shady and I was worried about my vehicle, but I was fortunate enough to find a parking space right on the street. The location is the only reason I didn't give this hotel a 5. It's not a horrible neighborhood, just a little shady, but this was not reflective in any way, shape or form for the hotel. Be careful with the breakfast voucher though. First of all, I thought it was awesome that the hotel gives this voucher and they clearly explained it. When my family and I went to the restaurant, they explained that the voucher was worth $4.00, and she said that the breakfast buffet was $4.50. I said, I'll spend an extra 50 cents per person, it turned out to be $4.50 on top of the $4.00, so between that and drinks, it came out to be $27.00. Still not bad, but unexpected, just something for you to be aware of.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketHost, General Manager at The Inn at Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and their sincere effort to make you feel welcome here in the heart of Zion's historic business district. As a new addition to the downtown area, we are delighted you chose to stay with us and sincerely hope you will consider a return visit after our restaurant is open later this year. In the interim, to support our neighboring businesses and provide our guests with a far greater variety of dining options than the typical hotel continental breakfast fare, we offer a meal inclusive rate voucher. This is accepted at area restaurants for several prechosen entrees, however, a buffet would likely be at an additional cost. I truly do apologize for not conveying this more clearly during your stay and we will absolutely strive to do better now that you've helped us to understand the potential for confusion. Again, thank you for sharing your impressions of the hotel overall and know we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I really enjoy this hotel. It is always clean and comfortable. This was better than some of the 4 star hotels I have stayed at in larger markets.. Those of us who are traveling to the area already have issues we are facing. It is very pleasant not to need to worry about the hotel room, safety, and comfort. The lobby is beautiful. The rooms are very clean. They didn't have dark bedding to hide the dirt. Will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JAugustPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketHost, General Manager at The Inn at Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We are so pleased that we were able to make your recent stay with us a pleasant one in spite of the circumstances that brought you to the beautiful City of Zion. We want you to know we are here to encourage you and your family throughout your remarkable journey here and thank you for your kind remarks. They will be deeply appreciated by our entire team that takes great pride in being part of Market Square. Please take care and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

On our first visit to CTCA, we were apprehensive, being in a new area in new surroundings, but one day into being there and we discovered some cute shops and eateries in the vicinity a SWEET little dress shop named Fashion Express and the Seafood soup at N&T's was DELICIOUS!!! The staff was GREAT and on two occasions when I needed support and help with situations they were AWESOME!! We LOVED having the spa to ourselves in the afternoon after my husband's appointment and having the shuttle and First Connections desk on site was VERY HELPFUL. The ONLY problem I had was the bed SUCKED!!! Totally uncomfortable :(

Room Tip: It was nice and quiet on the backside of the hotel on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin Or Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketHost, General Manager at The Inn at Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

We are delighted that you came to enjoy our beautiful hometown as much as we do! Thank you for the kind comments about our dedicated team and hotel amentities, as well as the services of CTCA, which are extraordinary in every sense. Regarding our beds, they were custom made for this hotel and we are so often asked by guests about how they can buy them for their home that we keep the contact information at our Front Desk. Unfortunately, your experience was to the contrary and I do apologize for any inconveience or distraction. We sincerely want your thoughts and efforts focused on your recovery, not your furniture :) We wish you and your family only the very best during this journey and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have been using this hotel for 1 1/2 years while my mom got cancer treatment at the CTCA in Zion. The rooms are clean and nicely laid out. The staff is pleasant and goes above and beyond duty to assist your every need. I prefer the back facing rooms, away from the street. It's quiet. 2nd floor is great. This hospital caters to hospital patients receiving treatments, so a shuttle is always available for guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherine y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketHost, General Manager at The Inn at Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

We are very grateful that you continue to choose Market Square during your visits to CTCA. Your loyalty and kind words I hope are a reflection of our intent to always exceed your expectations, espcecially in light of the reason for your stay here in the beautiful City of Zion. Please accept our sincere wishes for you and your family as you come through this journey together, and as always, we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Comfortable, quiet, extremely clean, cordial staff. A free shuttle back and forth to the Cancer Treatment Center. And HELPFUL! You need it, they will attempt to get it. Canteen is the usual, crackers, chips, etc. Full bottles of wine for purchase, mini bottles, as well as single bottles of beer, etc. This in itself is unique considering a beer was $3-4. No mini-bar pricing here!
No restaurant while I was there this week. Apparently one in the future. Breakfast was at N & T's restaurant just north of the hotel. (A voucher was given with choice of 3 options or could be used as a credit towards purchase.) Main street surrounding hotel includes a sweet coffee shop, an antiques shop, a Spanish grocery, bicycle shop and a handful of other individual, non- chain stores. Both "Julia's" were kind and considerate. Thank you for the silent night. Good rest when it was needed most. Looks as if there this is the place for weddings, showers and events at the hotel. Displays were nice, lobby was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanS609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketHost, General Manager at The Inn at Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for such kind words as we sincerely do strive to give our guests a superior experience and our team will be so happy to know you were pleased. I will pass along your compliments to our lovely 'Julias" who made a lasting impression :) We look forward to seeing you again soon and can only hope our new restaurant is open in time for your visit. We are working diligently to add to your dining options here in downtown Zion and so happy you enjoyed your time here. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the Best western the first week of April, Amanda was so helpful in selecing a perfect bottle of wine, with her help I had a very enjoyabe evening after a trying day at CTCA. The rooms are very clean, and its quiet for being on a main street.

Room Tip: No food except for snacks at the hotel, but a nice coffee shop across the street and a fair priced r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketHost, General Manager at The Inn at Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you sincerely for your kind and thoughtful words as our Amanda is indeed a remarkable team member. Her attitude and genuine concern for our guests has been a blessing and I know she will be touched to know her efforts made your time with us as enjoyable as possible in light of such challenging circumstances. We look forward to seeing you again soon as you begin your amazing journey with CTCA and on behalf of our entire team, I wish our very best to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion
1.8 mi away
The Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, BW Premier Collection
10.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kenosha
8.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Pleasant Prairie Kenosha
DoubleTree by Hilton Pleasant Pr...
#1 of 4 in Pleasant Prairie
437 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Market Square

Address: 2723 Sheridan Rd, Zion, IL 60099-2616 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites at Market Square)
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Zion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Price Range: $123 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Market Square offers a wide variety of rooms and services to meet all of your needs. Our 84 room hotel has 16 extended stay suites that have full kitchens and living areas. We also offer a fitness center and business facility with free computers, internet and printer access. Guests can enjoy our hot breakfast in the Adeline Room every morning and join us in the evenings on the patio for a relaxing rest around the fire.If you are looking to host an event, The Inn at Market Square also offers banquet facilities and meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 250 guests. All events books at Market Square also come with complementary event planning services to ensure that your event runs smoothly. We work with everyone to meet your budget and event needs. We strive to make your stay or event the best it can be and look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Market Square Illinois/Zion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing