We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place!”

Lakeview Grille Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Yorkville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandwich, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have been to Lakeview several times and each time it's better! Great atmosphere and very attentive staff. Lots of food choices and all very nicely presented and tasty! Our last visit my husband had the surf and turf and I had the seafood kabobs. We shared both plates and still had some left over to take home. The lobster was fantastic as was the steak and the seafood kabobs very savory especially with the rice it was served with. The bread is great too! Overall a very nice evening reasonably priced. We had all of that plus I had a strawberry blonde sangria for a total cost of about $68 bucks. Totally worth it! We didn't enjoy any of their dessert this time around but if you're ever there and they are serving up their home made key lime pie don't pass it up! We asked for a piece to take home but they were all out. Maybe next time!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melonie080313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    28
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We went here for Mother's Day and we were very disappointed for a variety of reasons. One would expect a restaurant with such "great reviews" to be able to handle a crowd on a holiday. We had reservations and we were seated right away, but it took over 20 minutes for a waitress to come to our table to even acknowledge our existence. When she finally took our drink order, she seemed irritated when we asked to order our appetizers as well because we had been waiting so long.

After another 10 minutes to get our drinks and take our orders, our appetizers came out. The shrimp cocktail was room temperature at best, and had not been deveined very well. The shrimp dejonghe was absolutely horrible - very little flavor and the TAILS were still on the shrimp!

Our steaks were undercooked (one was ordered medium and when it was cut open the entire plate filled with blood, it had to be sent back). My baked potato was COLD (not even lukewarm, but cold) and another person in our party had a potato that was barely cooked - he couldn't even mash the potato down with his fork to put the butter on it.

We didn't have any drinks except for a few glasses of lemonade, and we decided to skip dessert. $178 for 2 appetizers, 4 steaks and a kids meal, and half of the food was either undercooked or just average. We won't be going back for that kind of money...next time we'll drive to Naperville or Oak Brook and spend money on a well-deserved dining experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raerae06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for a date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I went here the other night and food was absolutely fantastic. We were granted seats right by the lake and were able to enjoy a wonderful view. Portions were huge and we had to take some home with us. I recommend the artichoke fondue as an appetizer. This place is most definitely on our return list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lakeview is a very nice, rustic fine dining restaurant with great service and excellent menu. Best garlic mashed potatoes I've had anywhere, and the steaks have always been wonderful. definitely my favorite place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The shinning star that all are compared to. Eat there a lot. For all occasions. Had a baby shower for a co-worker. She lives in Coal City. Her and her husband now travel this far to eat..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Plocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeview Grille Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lakeview Grille Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing