We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise and wonderful food!”
Review of La Petite Creperie - CLOSED

La Petite Creperie
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lockport, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise and wonderful food!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Get the Chet's assortment appetizer. It was amazing. Everyone was incredibly friendly and the restaurant is so quaint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wes099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Appetizers for Dinner”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went with 4 women and decided on appetizers to share and salads for dinner. Escargot was excellent, prepared in the old traditional way with butter and garlic, yum. The mussels were also outstanding. Crab cakes, very good, had a bit of spice in the sauce and the pork strudel was great as well. They also have a nice dinner selection and many, many crepe options. Service is good, sit outside if you can!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogansville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“French Gem”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Drove 60 miles to eat here. Had the cajun crepe and the Oceane crepe. The cajun crepe was filled with shrimp, andouille sausage, and wild mushrooms in a tomato based cream sauce. The shrimp and mushrooms tasted like an Italian crepe; however, when eating the sausage, the cajun flavor emerged. The Oceane crepe was filled with salmon, scallops and shrimp in a pesto cream sauce. Both were served with a spring mix salad and delicious! Good wine selection. For dessert we had the Romeo crepe and the Banana Fosters crepe. Nice finish to an excellent midday meal. Would definitely recommend and will return when we're back in Chicago!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SlisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Great place for dinner especially when going to the "Opera House" too!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

4 of us had dinner here last night before heading over to see one of our favorite authors - Michael Perry at the Opera House. We had no clue what to expect, but wanted something different, other than just a hmaburger or reuban sandwich. We found a charming restaurant with great food......definitely not your typical pub food! While there are a lot of things on the menu, since this is a "creperie" we decided on the dinner crepes with crepe desserts after. We selected a variety for our dinners and everyone enjoyed them as well as the small side salad that accompanied each entree. We will be back, and would like to dine outside in warmer weather while enjoying the beautiful Woodstock Square! (The onlky negative is the long hike up the stairs to the restrooms - but once up there, you do get get a nice view of the "bars on the windows and the heavy metal doors" where the jail cells used to be, when this building / house was once McHenry County's sherriff's residence, office, and jail, all rolled into one!! MB

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HistoricalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cozy spot in a great location.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The town square in Woodstock is something that everyone should spend a morning or afternoon getting to know. It's like a step back in time. I'm sure it's referenced elsewhere in the reviews, but this is the location that the film "Groundhog Day" was filmed. Having said that, on a recent excursion to Woodstock I stopped at La Petite Creperie for a late breakfast (they open at 11 on weekdays). I was seated near a window and was able to look out on the town square while I dined. The interior of the restaurant is comfortable and cozy. I had an omelette which was perfectly done, and served with some delicious homemade potatoes and a salad. The food and the service were outstanding, and there were all kinds of nice touches there. I know this may sound a bit odd, but one of the things I really enjoyed was that at each table in the sugar bowl, they have old-fashioned sugar cubes individually wrapped. Brought back a lot of memories. Do take a trip to Woodstock, drink in the culture, and when you're there take the time to stop here and enjoy the food and ambiance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finnfamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Creperie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing