We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have tried harder, but guests are stuck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wood Dale
Louisville, KY
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Could have tried harder, but guests are stuck”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Upon checking in (around 4:30 pm), the staff member checked to see if our room was clean--it wasn't, so we received another room. I don't know why we had to hear the back story from staff on getting our room ready. The room was fine - a suite actually with couch and second TV. The bathroom was clean but old--when I turned on the shower it felt like the faucet was loose enough to fall out if I wasn't extra gentle. The room had a slight odor, like it used to be a smoking room or something, but the sheets were clean and the bed comfortable. The walls were thin--we could hear our neighbors quite well. The breakfast is a rip-off, but if you don't have a car there isn't another choice. There is nothing near this hotel. For $10 the continental had limited fruit selections--the typical sliced cantaloupe and pineapple, no berries. There is no shuttle on weekends and it is about $25 plus tip to take American Taxi to/from the airport. The gym is small but functional. The cookies are nice and the staff is friendly enough. The hotel is what it is--one of very few options in Wood Dale, and a decent place to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porkchop1496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write. I'm sorry to hear that while pleasant, your stay wasnt excellent. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with my staff as it is our goal to exceed our guests expectations, everytime.
I would like to invite you to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to the Wood Dale / Chicago area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    188
    108
    74
    31
See reviews for
137
100
52
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Overall the experience was fine. The bathrooms were small a rather dated but worked. My main complaint was having the side door access deliberately locked from the outside whereby can't access it if you park on the side of the building, you have to drag your bags all the way around through the lobby, late at night perhaps limiting access but not all the time. All hotels offering side access should allow it! I requested a non smoking room yet the bed smelled of smoke as did the room when the vent was off. The toilet seat was so loose, it almost came off. Why can't the cleaning staff request such a noticable repair? In summary, the value was worth the stay despite the issues I encountered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank UStravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write your review. Please be assured that I will personally see that each of the concerns you mentioned are addressed in a timely manner.
Thank you again for your time and your business. I appreciate it !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Good location just outside of the premium priced Ohare hotels. The shared areas of the hotel have been updated but the rooms are dated. The only accessible outlet was in the bathroom. Some of the fixtures in the room were broken.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future and enjoy our newly remodeled guest rooms; all of which are scheduled to be completed this summer.
Thank you for your business. I appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel services and accomodations are great I heard the gym is a little small, but other than that the lobby is gorgeous and the rooms are very nice. Need to request a refridgerator and/or microwave and pay an additional nightly fee which was a little odd. The staff is courteous and very helpful and the cookie you get upon checkin is delicious. Hotel restaurant has tasty food and they serve Starbucks coffee. It's a quaint part of town and within a 10 mile radius has lots of fantastic restaurants, shops, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Doubletree Hotel is in and industrial park area however it has a country atmosphere.
There is a nice pond in the front of the hotel with resident Canadian Geese and the hotel is surrounded by trees.
I will stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
My staff and I look forward to seeing you again!

Happy Traveling !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable. We got a great rate. The restaurant had good food and excellent service. The front desk was friendly and helpful. A bar that converts to a Starbucks in the morning. An excellent choice if you need to saty near Ohare, but don't want higher priced hotels

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you return soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Booked this hotel because of the reviews and pictures that were online and it was the worst experience ever in a hotel. Three different rooms all were dirty in some way, mostly coffee on the cupboard doors, the second room I almost fell because the celing was leaking, what the crap fix your rooms before you allow people to stay in them. They didn't have the wine in the room and you couldn't even take your breakfast back to the room after you have to pay for it. Don't stay at a Double Tree horrible hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I appreciate you selecting our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed with some issues at our hotel specifically regarding the cleanliness of our hotel. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. We strive on providing our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that this issue does not occur again. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience and I will keep your review in mind.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wood Dale
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Itasca
Hyatt Place Itasca
#1 of 5 in Itasca
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Wood Dale/Itasca
1.6 mi away
The Westin Chicago Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Addison
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk Grove Village at I-290, IL
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#3 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
340 reviews
3.2 mi away
Eaglewood Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove
Address: 1200 N Mittel Blvd, Wood Dale, IL 60191-1021 (Formerly Wyndham Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Wood Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wood Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Dale Doubletree
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Wood Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing