We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wood Dale
Viera, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Business Hotel, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Doubletree in Wood Dale. It was a pleasant experience. Rooms were clean and decorated nicely. Check in was seamless and was extra enjoyable as they presented me with a warm chocolate chip cookie. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Fitness room was clean and well maintained. They did have the heat on in there which made running on the treadmill a little hotter than what I would have liked. The hotel is off the beaten path but a good one. All employees were very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    186
    107
    74
    32
See reviews for
134
96
52
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is an adequate hotel in a fairly good location. The service is good, beds are suberb with crisp, clean linens and clean rooms. The property overall is in need of a lot of TLC and general updating. Peeling wallpaper, entry lights that do not work and cracking grout lend the property a shabby appearance. The fitness center is nice and well maintained altough a bit small and crowded at times. Be cautious with room service as well - the cooks are fine with the basics but do not order anything that takes more skill (e.g., steer clear of the chicken marsala). And be prepared for airport noise - the property is on an O'Hare flight path especially early in the AM and the evening. But, overall, it's a good hotel - clean rooms and a friendly staff with lots of free parking and free Internet/Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California, U.S.A.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I never thought I would be writing a positive review for a DoubleTree but fair is fair. Stayed here for 4 night son business in Wood Dale. The hotel is in a quiet area and if you get a interior room then it's really quiet. While it is close to O'Hare Airport I did not notice any air plane noise.

The rooms are a little tired but not old. No problem.
Staff was good.
The breakfast buffet is fast and the food O.K.
May places to eat a short car ride aways in Schaumburg near the Woodfield Mall.

Safe travels

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Although the rooms are tired, the facility has been one I have used for several years due in large part to the renovation of the main lobby space. Located in a quiet piece of town but the bar area and restaurant provide services enough to make this a positive stay. I have spent $12,000 there in the past two years for my company, clients and vendors but I will be moving my business in 2012. I have had repeated issue with incorrect folios and accreditation to my Hilton Honors account. Despite many attempts with the local staff and General Manager - my issues continue to be unresolved.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I have to hand it to these folks - they managed a hotel full of hockey teams attending the Bauer Invitational without a blip. Great customer service and very helpful all the way around. Their patience was exemplary. Rooms were a bit small however to be called "suites" but they were clean and well taken care of. A few small gripes:

1) change the sheets daily. Don't tell me you're going green.
2) this is a former Wyndham and apparently the fridges were taken out. A suite should have a microwave and a fridge. These had neither.
3) Offer free wireless for those who aren't Hilton members (fortunately I am one)
4) Breakfast charges for kids are outrageous.

Other than that - I would recommend this hotel. They're working hard to make people happy even if the rooms are a bit dated and without extra amenities.

Breakfast was good but really expensive for what you get. If i'm paying $11 with my kids, I want more than the usual buffet. Cook something fresh!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcusg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I like this place a lot and have stayed several times, however, the rooms are in disrepair. Staff are great and very helpful. Restaurant dinners are good and the breakfast buffett's are excellent. But, it is high time they revamp their rooms.........here's a description of mine:
*I went through 3 rooms before I got one that had a working HVAC system
*The shower didn't drain so you get to stand in 2-3 inch's of water
*The rooms all smelled of cigarette smoke, even though I asked for a non-smoking room, apparently they allow smoking on the balconies so guess what? the smoke comes right into the room via the sliding screen door and stinks up the rooms.......all 3 rooms smelled of smoke.
*One of the rooms I was assigned had piles of cigarette butts in both corners of the balcony.....nice touch!
I wouldn't bring my wife here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmundo_de_ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asd
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Loved this place -- in very quiet location once you get off the freeway (in warehouse area, but very green, with ponds, etc.). MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A CAR to get around. If you do, the eating spots, petrol spots and even churches are all within a few minutes.
The actual hotel was great: smiling staff, and very helpful (well, except for one lady who never smiled once, no matter how hard I tried to make her). The hotel was clean, the washrooms and front lobby were huge; the open restaurant was well-utilized, and had a good menu. We made good use of the exercise room, and the swimming pools were kept pretty busy by other patrons as well.
The corridors are looooonnnng -- took forever to get to our car and back.
Felt like home; we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c4c4c4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APatenaude, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
c4c4c4-

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Come back and see us again soon!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wood Dale
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Itasca
Hyatt Place Itasca
#1 of 5 in Itasca
461 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Westin Chicago Northwest
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Wood Dale/Itasca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk Grove Village at I-290, IL
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#3 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
332 reviews
3.2 mi away
Eaglewood Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove
Address: 1200 N Mittel Blvd, Wood Dale, IL 60191-1021 (Formerly Wyndham Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Wood Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wood Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Dale Doubletree
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Wood Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing