We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best prime rib!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tropics

The Tropics
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best prime rib!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The food and the views are incredible! The prime rib on Saturday is the best. Huge cuts and cooked to perfection. Beautiful new patio has a great view of the lake.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhartler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spencer, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great vista--top of list for area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We don't give many 5-star ratings but this place hit it right for us---twice! The Tropic's is right on the water at a marina with a full view of the Lake. They have a great deck/dining area and we found a favorite table in the southeast corner. Great local color and service with superb outdoor ambience. Great weather did play a big part but great service and food made all elements fall together. Hope to revisit--GREAT JOB-KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK--GOD BLESS!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We first came across The Tropics when we were looking for a venue to have a casual wedding celebration after getting married in Hawaii. Once we met Allison and Frank, the owners, we knew this was the perfect place. We tried their food which was amazing and everything was so reasonable. Our party ended up going really well and people still talk about how good the food was (best baked mostacciolli ever) the drinks are really good and you can't beat the scenery of being right on the lake with the beautiful boats. Because they are so dog friendly we go back a lot in the summer with our dog and have dinner on the patio. Great food, great drinks, great people!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great outside dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Great food beautiful atmosphere great service Restraunt is overlooking the North Point Marina A great place for lunch or a drink

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I love it here. It sits right on Lake Michigan. The scenery is beautiful, the food is good and the drinks are good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberlyB772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tropics also viewed

Winthrop Harbor, Lake County
Winthrop Harbor, Lake County
 
Winthrop Harbor, Lake County
 

Been to The Tropics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing