We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgot Greek Town, Come to Avli to eat real Greek Food”
Review of Avli Restaurant

Avli Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Avli Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Winnetka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spruce
Transit: The Winnetka stop of the Metra Northern Line is approximately 2 blocks from the restaurant.
tokyo
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Forgot Greek Town, Come to Avli to eat real Greek Food”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Every time I go to Chicago, usually 1-2 times a year, I always try to go Avli. Especially after visiting Rhodos a couple of years ago, I recognized that Avli was the real thing. My suggestion is to focus on the appetizers and salads and then share some mains with your table. The portions are generous. The ouzo flows. Pretend that you are in the Aegean and not Winnetka.
Maybe you will have some reason to go to Greek Town, but surely if you want to eat Greek, you will go to Avli.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Service!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I think the review title says it all. Avli isn't your cookie-cutter Greek restaurant (although you can definitely get great bread and saganaki and many of the standard Greek dishes. The inside dining room has a fireplace and there is a terrific outdoor dining area when it's warm outside. The restaurant is kind of noisy but you can definitely have a great conversation(s) so the noise level isn't overpowering or distracting. Every time I've had the fresh fish special it's been delicious and beautifully prepared with Greek herbs. I really like the horta (bitter greens) side dish. This isn't something that you find in all Greek restaurants and at Avli they prepare it right. They also have a tremendous wine selection and when we've asked for suggestions we've always gotten great advice and have never been disappointed with the wine. The service is attentive and very professional.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A piece of Greece in the Lakeshore”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

First time at this place last week. I have plans to return during the summer to enjoy their patio.
Food was great (large portions we could have shared) and service was very good.
The little mall around this restaurant adds the right atmosphere to your night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stifelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a find in Winnetka! The grilled octopus is the best I've had this side of the Atlantic. Very tender and flavorfuI. All the fish and seafood is good. The salmon in parchment paper is cooked with flavorful vegetables, including fennel, which complement and do not over power the salmon. A great selection of Greek wine and a knowledgeable wait staff who will bring you samples to aid in your selection. The yogurt dessert is just right, not too heavy, not too sweet, flavored with date and fig infused honey. Great value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Greek Food in Winnetka”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Authentic food, wine and owners! Good atmosphere, always crowded, with fireplace and good service. Good for family and outside seating in the summer.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avli Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Avli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing