We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wilderness retreat we have had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Clayoquot Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 4-day trip to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort. It has been an amazing experience for us. Clayoquot is the perfect combination of wilderness, luxury and friendliness. The beautifully furnished tents give stunning views into the wilderness. And wilderness it is. My wife encountered a bear visiting the front grass patch of our tent while she was on the toilet. Breath taking but after John's introduction in how to treat bears no real problem.

We have seen plenty of bears, whales, eagles and smaller wild life and we even saw a wolf. The Restaurant is amazing - really 5* quality and everyone is so nice and makes you feel part of the family.

This was our 5th "Safari" - all others in Africa - but the first one where small children were welcome. The Dogs adopted our children right away and they could come with us on all excursions.

The time was too short but I am sure it will not have been our last visit to Clayoquot. Thank you for the great time with you... and yes, our children are also missing Peggi Sue, Annie and Sessie (the dogs).

Room Tip: There are two type of tents - "luxury tents" which have own attached showers and WC toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hinrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Director of Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you Hinrich S! What a wilderness experience you did have! We love that you were able to see a bear here on property and that the orientation that John provides equipped you with the know how on what to do in this situation. We take every measure possible to ensure our guests safety and were so happy to hear about your "encounter".

We would also like to thank you for taking the time for pointing out the Deluxe tents. These are our original style of tent that has been here since Clayoquot Wilderness Resort's conception. Yes, most people do prefer the Luxury En-suite but, as you say, the Deluxe tents have a charm that can't be beat!

We hope to see you all again in the future!

Warmest regards,

Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Missing Clayoquot already. Stayed with my sister and our teenage families. We expected a lot before we arrived and we got it. None stop adventure activities in a most amazing place and hosted by great people who care. Food amazing, tents just like ensuite bedrooms. Make sure you stay in Vancouver first, a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Director of Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

And we miss you Janet H!

Having your group here was such a delight and we are a perfect location to bring two families together for a vacation filled with activities!
We are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you all again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at CWR, and it is an experience we'll never forget. The activities were perfectly organized, the guides wonderful, the food so exceptional (and being from Louisiana, we know, respect and love our food!), the accommodations so comfortable and luxurious. But the memory we'll most cherish is the hugs we received, the kind words, the feeling that we were among family and will be missed when we leave. These people are the best!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseB241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were treated like family from the moment we arrived at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort. This is by far the most unique vacation our family has taken. It will be a long time before we forget our wonderful hosts John and Adele and the unbelievable staff they have put together. Thank you to all for a truly magical 3 nights. We thank Ryan and Tereza for all the wonderful food and wine. Our 7 year old said it was the best food she has ever eaten! The guides were knowledgeable and fun. We really enjoyed our time with Dixon and Nikki, just to name a few. The resort is peaceful, relaxing and laid back, but not a detail was missed. We will be counting the days until we are able to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Manager at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you Carrie H for this wonderful review! We always love to hear from our guests and are truly thankful for your wonderful words. We strive always to make this the best wilderness experience but also family vacation and we are thrilled to hear that we succeeded.

I will pass on your words to Chef Ryan and his team about his food being the best your 7 year old has ever eaten.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you all out here again one day!

Warmly,

Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

a while ago, I met with Tereza, the sommelier at Clayoquot Wilderness resort, and she described me her work place and I immediately knew that one day I would go there…well, it happened last WE: I got invited to this getaway that would combine food, wine, music and wilderness.
I embarked on this float plane, fulfilling already one of my kid’s dream, then it got even better when I got to sit beside the pilot…and a few minutes later we were flying over Vancouver Island and its majestic rain forest. After about 40 min, I hear in the headphones that we are going to turn left in that valley and that 5 min later we would be arrived at destination. And from there, everything went crescendo! Landing in this remote estuary, picking through the trees at the tents, being greeted at the plane by the team, getting to the resort in an horse carriage and Tereza handing us a glass of fancy bubbles!
I won’t go too much in details from now on in order for you to still have something unique to discover but just know that excellent food, awesome wines, interaction with nature, luxurious rooms with a unique feeling of showering in the forest, all the way to the moon awesome massages are around the corner.
But most all, this trip wouldn’t have been the same if the wonderful team of exceptional people hadn’t been there: attention to detail, generosity, in depth knowledge of the area’s history, world class service and pure genuine friendliness, that’s what made this trip a life time experience

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pintesev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Director of Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

We would like to thank Pintesev for posting this amazing review for us. Pintesev came to us through a business connection for our inaugural "Wilderness, Wine and Adventure Weekend" that took place in June 2013. We welcomed Pintesev as the wine maker from acclaimed British Columbia winery, Le Vieux Pin, as well as Canadian music legend, Jim Cuddy of Blue Rodeo to the resort for this extraordinary weekend.
We were trilled with the outcome of the weekend and are already busy planning for our second annual "Wilderness, Wine and Adventure Weekend" in 2014. Stay tuned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

i've been to a lot of high end resorts but to be in the wilderness, in luxury tents with fully functional bathrooms with heated floors !, an outdoor shower and in the middle of nature - priceless

John and the entire staff are top shelf - the food, the wine, the activities are second to none.

we started our first day with some yoga, had an amazing breakfast with homemade saugages and an egg white fratata - we then went hiking up 'Peggy's falls', came back for a gourmet lunch, then went white water kayaking down rapids- had a massage and a gourmet dinner with some outstanding wines......that was our first day

add in whale watching, salmon fishing, horseback riding, hikes and excursions to some amazing locations....and did i meantion the food ...

a Must go to !

Room Tip: truly outstanding - we are taking our kids there in a month from now - it was that good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Manager at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hello LTD50!

Thank you for being the first guest of our 2013 season to write us a review, and what a great review at that! We are thrilled to hear that your experience here with us was such a great one. We strive each and every day to exceed people's expectations and it sounds like we succeed.

So very happy to hear that we will be seeing you again and with your kids. As you know, this is a great place for kids of all ages.

Until the next time,

Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

As soon as you arrive at Clayoquot, you feel part of the family. The staff are knowledgeable and warm. The location is breathtaking. The food is some of the best I have ever tasted.
Just being here is both immensely calming yet the vastness of the surroundings leaves you feeling slapped in the face by Nature.
In fact I'm finding it really hard to summarise just how it feels to be at Clayoquot - the experience is peaceful yet stimulating, down to earth and yet heavenly.
It is a place that is very hard to leave but that will always stay with you.

Room Tip: Go for an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jools_B_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Social Media and Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you Jools_B_London for that wonderful review. We are able to do what we do so well because of guests like you. Thank you for taking the time to write to let others know about your time with us, this goes a long way and we truly appreciate it.
Hope to see you back again soon. It is always so nice to see that wagon coming over the bridge with familiar faces on it!

With warm regards,

Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayoquot Sound
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,294 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,839 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayoquot Wilderness Resort

Address: PO Box 130, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clayoquot Wilderness Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Safari Style Tent Camp and adventure Resort located in the Clayoquot Sound World Biosphere. Rates are all inclusive including seaplane transfers to/from the Resort and Vancouver BC, accommodations in luxury tents, gourmet meals, all beverages including bar, and all personally guided adventure activities including Bear and Whale Watching, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, kayaking and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Clayoquot Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayoquot Wilderness Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing