We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamping at its best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Clayoquot Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Upon arrival a member of the welcome group dragged my backpack with my fleece on it on the floor, not caring much. Not a good start, then we were sidewashed, as if we werent there at all. Bear in mind this is an upmarket resort. Then had to 'fight' to get onto the horsecart, that made us feel very uncomfortable-a resort staff should have stepped in to sort people out. Upon arrival we were left with no choice of drinks, but one! The setting/scenery is amazing, food superb with minor mistakes (food allergy), open bar with great selection, waitresses were rather ignorant on occasions. Our table was dirty quite a few times, at one point it took us 10mins to get the attention of a waitress!That changed though when a gentleman was our waiter. Activities are well planned, a bit careless on occasions, ie. going out on the ocean fishing in complete fog(couldnt see a meter!) Guides and restaurant staff could do with a bit of training. Native staff were amazingly knowledgable and friendly.
It is a remarkable family run resort, wish they also treated it as a business and found that great balance between.

Room Tip: No room service due to bears, no pool either, no phone in tent. Try to choose a tent nearer to the C...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iverano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Social Media and Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

We would like to take this time to acknowledge your review and thank you for pointing out some very important mishaps that happened during your stay here with us. We sincerely apologize for any kind of unpleasant moment that you had with us and would like to extend an invitation for you to join us again here in the wilderness for our 2013 season. Please contact myself, Kathy MacRae Social Media and Marketing, directly at kathy@wildretreat.com so that we can plan a return trip for you and your partner.

We feel that you have pointed out some very useful things that we will take into our training and review with all departments to ensure that this does not happen again.

We are extremely sorry that you felt unsafe in any way on your fishing trip with us. We do find it necessary however, to let you know that all of our fishing guides are professionally trained boat captains with boats that are equipped with GPS and Radar. While we, management, were not on your boat at the time, we can assure you that you were not at risk at any point with our staff and boats. Dense fog is a common occurrence on the west coast and with that in mind; all of our fishing guides have been well trained and prepared for those marine conditions.

We thank you again for your review and look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been twice - the second time was even better than the first time - which we did not think was possible - as the first time we went we were on a world trip for a year and it was one of the best 3 places we visited - so we had to go back - expected to enjoy it but not be blown away - but again we had a brilliant time - great for all the family. All the staff team are brilliant, nice, helpful, great with kids but enjoy the various experiences with you as guides. John and Adele - the owners/hosts run a great ship and have loads of charisma thrown in as well. The kids may not let us go anywhere else again! just promise not to miss out if you have read this but i am afraid you won't be able to book when we want to go again! It is true Wilderness and up there with Galapagos and Amazon as experiences for the family.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the ensuite bathroom tent !
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

While we have had the extreme good fortune to visit some extraordinary places, we walk away (well, seaplane actually) from our recent four day stay at Clayoqout Wilderness Resort believing that what John and Adele have come up with is as fine as anything we have experienced. Wilderness—you betcha! In this remote location, as promised, there where whales and bears and tents set in a temperate rain forest – we loved that. We were equally enamored by the creature comforts such as the amazing meals, comfy beds and spa services. As empty nesters, we were originally a little worried that we may have stumbled upon a resort more family oriented than we were accustomed to, but ultimately found that watching the children delight in the place added to the appeal. It was great to enter the beautiful dining hall at the end of the day and swap adventure stories with folks that had come from all around the globe. We found it truly remarkable how the place ran—from housekeeping to dining room, to the activity coordination and execution; there were no dropped balls. Truly an excellent getaway—wouldn’t change a thing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ncwriter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited in June of 2009. It was an exceptional experience. The food was amazing, with top notch wine pairings and the "glamping" tent accommodations were great. The activities were well planned and incredibly fun. The packs of dogs to keep the bears at bay were a nice touch-- the kids loved it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDWny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We just returned from a four night stay at Clayoquot. I was initially concerned that my expectations would be too high. The promotional material is so enticing. Well, we had a simply wonderful experience. Guide staff were fabulous - fun to talk with and extremely compitant. The food was incredibly good - five course meals every night with wine pairings - I've never had such variety and freshness in one place - three meals a day! Activities were really well handled and the tent accommodations are unlike anything we've experienced. The tents with attached bathrooms are luxurious and so comfortable. I requested an electric blanket in addition to the comforter and it was there upon arrival. A totally wonderful time - we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curlycue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Outstanding....eventhough the weather wasn't great we had a fabulous time. The staff and guides were all excellent, food magnificent and we enjoyed all the activities (Yoga, horseback riding, fishing and kayaking). It is not really a place to relax doing nothing....it is much better to enjoy the outdoors and splendour of the area.

Room Tip: We had an attache en suite with heated flooring which was nice to wake up to
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I spent 4 nights and 5 days with my 11 year old and 13 year old at this wonderful resort and we loved every second of it. My son fished non stop in the fresh and salt water and caught many different types of fish and loved being with Reid and Chuck, the two excellent guides. My daughter lived on horseback and happily rode the trails with Sam who helped her adjust to riding in the wild. Although I fished and rode with the kids, I also got to focus on my own interests like hiking on Flores island and partaking in some soul refreshment with 2 massages and long soaks in the hot tubs facing the mountains. The chef Ryan Orr and his staff put together some amazing meals which were a treat for me as someone who loves to eat but not cook,. They even made some simple food for my son who is not an avid eater. John and Adelle are lovely hosts and we had an amazing time and would highly recommend for any people who like luxury( tents with fire places, flannel sheets and heated floors in the bathroom), fantastic food and being in the great Canadian outdoors.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marymccmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayoquot Sound
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,261 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,051 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayoquot Wilderness Resort

Address: PO Box 130, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
Price Range: $3,757 - $3,758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clayoquot Wilderness Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Safari Style Tent Camp and adventure Resort located in the Clayoquot Sound World Biosphere. Rates are all inclusive including seaplane transfers to/from the Resort and Vancouver BC, accommodations in luxury tents, gourmet meals, all beverages including bar, and all personally guided adventure activities including Bear and Whale Watching, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, kayaking and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Clayoquot Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayoquot Wilderness Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing