We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet a friend.”

Walker Bros Original Pancake House
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Wilmette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
284 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great place to meet a friend.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Just had eggs and hash browns. Although my favorite is the apple pancake. Also like the oatmeal there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurerJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    51
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
294 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Landmark for Breakfast”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Chicagoland landmark for breakfast. Attractive interiors, famous for stained glass window treatments. Tremendous selection, all freshly prepared. You can watch them prepare your breakfast. Lines can be tremendous on key times - Saturday, Sunday mornings. Plan accordingly. Two unique items - Bacon lover's eggs, with about 7 strips of super thick bacon. The Apple - Cinnamon pancake is totally unique and easily feeds two folks. Totally special that I have rarely seen other places. Eat carefully - cinnamon and sugar topping are super hot! But SO tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jnjtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
136 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Tiffany's”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

What sets this pancake house apart is the ambience.

Their pancakes are superb, it’s true, and there are many varieties offered from apple cinnamon to Georgia pecan. Some gluten free. There are fine omelettes too. The coffee is diner drinkable, but you don’t come here for the coffee.

What’s different is the interior which features lovely stained glass in the windows, beveled clear glass partitions between rooms, and carved wood paneling. Tiffany style lamps hang here and there, adding to the Victorian era ambience. Service comes with a smile. This is a great place for breakfast and not bad for lunch or dinner either. It’s a wonderful little escape from the stress of life on the north shore.

My family and I dined here recently for an early dinner. There was no line this mid week evening. I understand a line forms outside on Sunday mornings. I enjoyed the vegetable omelette while others indulged in pancakes. All dishes earned solidly good reviews. The table at which we sat was spacious, allowing us to stretch out, enjoy conversation while waiting for our orders. Music played softly overhead. Five of us dined for 70 bucks with tip.

Now, is this pancake house experience any better than Waffle House? Or better than any of many other individual pancake houses around the country, perhaps in your town or neighborhood? Not really. It's just different. For example, I still fondly recall a breakfast my wife and I enjoyed at a Waffle House off the interstate in Georgia. Scrambled eggs and coffee served with buttered raisin bread toast by a waitress adept at holding multiple conversations linking her customers that morning. A juke box played country music.

On the other hand, if you want to experience a pancake house version of Breakfast at Tiffany’s, then Walker Bros. is the place to go when you’re in the North Shore area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wladovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always great food”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Come hungry one of the original pancake houses that never dissappoints, great omelets, pancake, coffee and orange juice

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pancakes ever!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great place for pancake lovers. The selection is wide--be prepared to wait in line on the weekend as this place is very popular on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Best time to go is in the afternoon or evening. Kids are very welcome. This is a landmark in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walker Bros Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Walker Bros Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing