We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE that Beef!!!”
Review of Portillo's

Portillo's
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Willowbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Restaurant details
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“LOVE that Beef!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Portillos Willowbrook is the best for beef and hot dogs! I always stop when in town!! Menu has something for everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    35
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
evansville, in
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved It - Will Return”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I wanted to go here based on reviews on Tripadvisor. So glad we tried it. We had the italian beef sandwiches and hot dogs with fries and onion rings. It was a little overwhelming when you walk in for a first time visitor but they get people through the lines quickly. I was glad we reviewed the menu before we arrived because that was a great help. The food was great and the staff were very friendly. We will definately return we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank indgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxahatchee, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Such nice food with a drive thru!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Arrived late in town and saw this establishment on our way to our hotel and felt it was worth investigating. Pulled up to the drive thru but realized there were so many great options that we had to get off and go inside and study them well. My daughters ordered from the Portillo's menu and were ecstatic with their food. My oldest daughter ordered a chilli dog that she says was the best dog she ever ate. My other daughter ordered a steak sandwich with green peppers and was equally amazed. She could nor finish it so I had the rest. It was very apparent that the meat was marinating overnight and was very tender and had an amazing flavor. Me and my wife ordered from the Barnelli's menu which is also part of this restaurant. My wife had a bowl of Mostaccioli chicken pasta bowl that was their special blackboard that was good and I had a chicken fra diavlo bowl that was amazing! The chocolate cake shakes were absolutely wonderful as well. We had leftovers that we were able to finish a couple of days later along with left overs from the next night. Definitely would return if we are ever in the area again as they have several locations around town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justmy2centavos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Portillo's - More Than Hot Dogs”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Known as a hot dog place, Portillo's also has great burgers. They also serve salads. The place always seems crowded but the lines move fast. If you have room, try the chocolate cake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbw8461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best hot dogs and beef”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

if you want true Chicago style you have to go to portillos...it will always be busy but they are fast and it is worth the wait. don't let the long line deter you because it moves fast. the hot dogs, beef sandwiches, cheese fries and the chocolate cake is unbelievable. always lots of choices tho

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank amberd0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portillo's also viewed

 
Darien, DuPage County
Willowbrook, DuPage County
 

Been to Portillo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing