We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong with the variety of options”
Review of Portillo's

Portillo's
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Willowbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Restaurant details
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong with the variety of options”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Whether it's driving through or staying and eating, you can choose from hot dogs, the famous chopped salad, burgers and pastas and custom salads, the menu is widely varied and quick service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kskbtvkcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    35
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Saint Louis, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

They have really good food here and nice people. We had the pasta. Very good. I also enjoyed the decor of the building. Lots of photos, pictures, and things to look at. Photo opportunity. And I liked the seating because there is ample space between the tables. Here is a tip, because I did not know this when I first got there. This restaurants looks like one that you sit and get served but it's self serve (similar way like Panara Bread). This restaurant is about 3 or 4 restaurants in one and there are more that one area to place your food order. You don't get a waiter/waitress here. You go up to one of the cashiers and place your order and there are several menus on the walls around this restaurant. You wait for it and pick it up and bring it to the table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherF592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Good Hot Dogs”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I saw tons of cars in the parking lot, so we decided to go in to get a bite to eat, we tried the hot dogs and thought they were worth the visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank vwright2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love the Hot Beef Sammich”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

You can't go wrong with the Portillo's Hot Beef Sandwich. Order the large size, wet with peppers and gorge yourself silly. Always a stop on trips to Chicago!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fast food done right”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good food. Good prices. For entertainment watch the drive through line at dinner time. McDonald's could learn from these folks

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank darsben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portillo's also viewed

 
Darien, DuPage County
Willowbrook, DuPage County
 

Been to Portillo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing