We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing its age and wear”
Review of Willowbrook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willowbrook Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Willowbrook
Reviewed November 5, 2012

While the desk personnel were perky and helpful, the lobby, room and hallways are really starting to show their age. Carpets were worn and dirty and the mechanical HVAC unit in the room was noisy. Building security keys are really showing their age: Got locked out of the entrance to the building and my room twice through the stay.

The hotel bar was good for a Holiday Inn, though not staffed enough during the night hours and service was slow. Breakfast at the Hotel Restaurant was good, and they were willing to cook items not on the limited buffet. However, the restaurant staff was a bit disorganized each morning and it took a lot of time to pay our tab.

Room Tip: Check-in was easy in the early afternoon (1500); Front desk was very busy 1600-1900.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 122 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is way overpriced, save your money and stay away. The place is run down and out dated. The halls were littered with trash (cigar buts, food wrappers and dirt) The bathroom was so small you could barely stand in it and still close the door. Breakfast buffet looked good but had cheap ingredients and poor selection. Holiday inn express's have better selection of food items.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willowbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Randall L,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations at a competitive value. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

this is what Amtrak puts us in after massive mess ups. The hallway goes on forever and you wonder if you will ever get to your room. The ceilings are low and the carpet is dirty. There is no where good to eat near by. Don't come here whatever.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willowbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear wilwag,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. I apologize the experience you received was less than satisfactory. Please accept my sincere apology for the condition of the hallways, ceiling and carpet. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Recently stayed here, the fun started at check-in, after bringing all our stuff to our assigned room, finding it occupied. Returned to the front desk to be told, oh I thought that might happen, really?? No apology, just a new room number. Hallways are hot, carpets are stained and smelly. The rooms are average at best, needing to be updated, beds are mushy-soft, chairs are dirty. Housekeeping does their best with what they have to work with, we had clean towels, plenty of tissues, TP and coffee. Hotel room service is very limited, who stops lunch at 1:30?? The bar and restaurant were spotty on food quality and service. I would not return again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was waiting to review this hotel because I wrote a letter to management with Holiday Inn and was waiting to see how they responded or helped me with this situation. I thought that would only be fair. Well, it's now 7 days later and I have yet to hear anything by phone or by email about my visit.

I wish I had seen the previous review for this hotel sooner, but they must have stayed around the same time we did, because we had a very similar experience.

I had an awful time confirming my reservation before our trip, and had a very difficult time scheduling the shuttle between the airport and hotel. I was transferred to 4 different people on one phone call-none of which were able to help. I was rudely put on hold and forgotten about 2 other times. When I finally did reach someone, it was a huge headache and NOT at all the kind of thing I need to worry about when traveling so far from home.

The weather was around 100 degrees outside, and when we arrived to our room, there was absolutely no air conditioning on. We turned it on and went out to try to find the pool. Well, we couldn't find it, so we stopped by the front desk at which point we were informed that the pool had been shut down all week and was out of service. This is a terrible season for the pool to be out of order especially with it being so hot. It didn't seem like there was any hurry for them to get it fixed either.

For the price that we paid for the room, no pool, poor room conditions, no air, no breakfast... it was not at all worth it. I would not stay again, and I am disappointed in Holiday Inn for not getting back in touch with me. I stayed 3 other nights this past week at various hotels through the South, and would not have made any of them Holiday Inn after this experience.

Very dissatisfied.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere different. You're sure to find a better deal elsewhere. Call ahead if you are goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KJAH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willowbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear KJAH86,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for a family reunion during the hottest week in like 50 years. The lack of sufficient air conditioning during this time would be understandable but the pool, (even though advertised) was closed and not working and had been for over 2 months!, the staff was rude and the shuttle had no air as well (after the driver got lost and kept us in it for an extra 20 minutes). The rooms are so old the A/C units could not keep up, the hallways were well into the 90's in temperature. Overall, for the price, stay at the LaQuinta across the street, its half the price and much nicer!

Room Tip: No free breakfast, no pool, A/C's don't work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 357Mchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Don' believe all the positive ratings! The rooms are old and run down. TV I know is not a big thing but really, 1998? Probably the last time the room was renovated. And we were on the " executive" floor! Remember VCR tapes? The TV has one built in. Bathroom is tiny. Seems not much larger than on a cruise ship. Carpet buckles an wall paper is pealing. Lamp shade must have been a war souvenier from Iraq.
On the positive side, staff is friendly, our room was fairly quite and wireless Internet was quicker than most hotels. This was in a convenient location for us. I think we will try a different hotel next time.

We do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usedphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willowbrook hotels
0.7 mi away
Champagne Lodge and Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Chicago Willowbrook
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Chicago - Willowbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Inn

Address: 7800 Kingery Hwy, I-55 at Rt. 83, Willowbrook, IL 60527-5540 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Willowbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Willowbrook
Price Range: $90 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Willowbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Speed Internet Access and Wireless Access in all guest rooms, lobby, restaurant & lounge. Conveniently located in the western suburbs of Chicago, Holiday Inn Hotel Chicago-Willowbrook/Hinsdale is accessible to all major expressways, Chicago's O'Hare International Airport and Chicago's Midway Airport (complimentary shuttle to and from Midway Airport). Neighboring the corporate communities of: Burr Ridge, Hinsdale, Oakbrook, Lemont and Woodridge, our full service hotel and conference facility provides top-level service and amenities to satisfy our business and leisure guests. All of the 220 guest room accommodations and suites have been newly renovated and have many conveniences and amenities. Willby's restaurant and lounge, outdoor pool, exercise room with a sauna and guest laundry facilites add to a very comfortable stay for our guests while attending a conference or visiting family in the greater Chicago area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Willowbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Willowbrook Hinsdale Hotel Willowbrook
Holiday Inn Willowbrook
Willowbrook Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing