We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved this gem in Karen”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Karen Gables .

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nairobi Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Lacy W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this gem in Karen”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This B&B is incredibly quaint, beautifully designed, clean and accommodating. The staff was so friendly and welcoming and went above and beyond for my fellow traveler's birthday. Every detail was just perfect from the warm towel upon arrival to our last breakfast before departing for our safari. My only regret is not staying longer. Until next time Karen Gables!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2017
was great to host you for that short period we look forward to host you on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilaryEli...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wow! Where do I start?! Our travel agent booked us into Karen Gables for the use of a day room for our last hours in Kenya, to provide us with a peaceful, beautiful, delightful respite between our exhilarating safari holiday in Samburu and Mara North and the arduous overnight return flight from Nairobi.
We chose not to tire ourselves with Nairobi sight seeing, so the 7 hours we spent at Karen Gables (1-8pm) were not only restorative and very welcome, but set in such luxury. The location, building, furnishings and staff were perfect - it is a home, rather than a hotel. The food and drinks (which are an additional cost) are 5* - superb, freshly prepared and served with friendly silver service efficiency.
The pool, set in an enchanting garden, is big enough for some much needed exercise after 8 days in a safari vehicle(!!), and the "day room" was actually a large suite of 3 rooms - full lounge, king size bedroom, and large ensuite shower room.
Everything you require is provided so you don't need to unpack your toiletries - only your swim suit!
Later, after a powerful, hot shower, we enjoyed sundowners on the veranda (G&T and an excellent Sauvignon Blanc), before eating dinner of home made soup, succulent fish with rice & vegetables, and tasty sweet of flambéed pineapple.
Lunch, when we arrived, had been avocado vinaigrette, butternut squash soup (delicious!!), and a toasted ham & cheese sandwich. All meals and drinks were charged separately to us, and we felt they were excellent value.
We can highly recommend Karen Gables for a stay in Nairobi, whether for a day or overnight, or more.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2017
was great to host you though short ...... looking forward tom see you again @ Karen Gables
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripletad...
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Start of a trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was the perfect place to start our African adventure. The staff was beyond accommodating and friendly. We were surrounded by warmth and friendship. The dog Sauzou adds a great aspect to your stay. The rooms were beautifully appointed. The food was five star. The home was very clean and neat. We sat by the fire at night And enjoyed a nice bottle of wine. Truly a shining star in one of the highlights of our visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you for your positive review .We are glad to know we met your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmontaque
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Boutique hotel in Nairobi”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

If your like me and looking for a relaxed friendly hotel, with good staff and excellent customer service, then head to Karen Gables!

It's a very homely environment with none of the usual hassle of large character-less hotel chains. Tucked in a quiet location in Karen, you have access to the reserves and then return to "your house" for peace & rest before heading off to your next adventure.

It's just an awesome place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Derick!was a great pleasure to host you at Karen Gables .We look forward to see you soon. The suite is waiting .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeangel
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing home”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Perfect choice for our short layover in Nairobi. The house is beautiful and so were the staff! Feels like a home away from home. Christian and Clemence made us feel so welcomed and Sansu, the German Shepherd (bear!) made our stay even more special as he is always there to greet us!
Highly recommend a stay here, the rooms are spacious and beautifully presented. The house has various fireplaces and cosy corners to chillout at.
Easy access to Karen Blixen museum, the giraffe centre and the elephant sanctuary.
Can't wait to be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Hello Jean ,thank you for the great review its good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonsouz...
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Amazing house and even better Staff”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed for four nights and you couldn't have asked for a better place. The staff is top notch and make you feel right at home. Every meal is amazing, and the rooms are quite and very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
was a great honor to host you and team, we look forward to see you again and get many referrals from your end .
Thank you for choosing Karen Gables
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khalididr...
Khartoum, Al Khartum, Sudan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome Mansion”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We couldn't have asked for something better.

Great management and owner Chris, very friendly and decent Magnificent staff specially Silas and Fred.

Rooms are great and clean with ensuite spacious bath with twice a day room device.

The location is stunning with outdoor swimming pool and it's own water stream

It won't be the last time but a beginning of many visit to come to this stunning place.

Keep up the good work you have a beautiful mansion ❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Was great to host your family and we look forward to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing