We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Karen Gables .

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nairobi Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Jeangel
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing home”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Perfect choice for our short layover in Nairobi. The house is beautiful and so were the staff! Feels like a home away from home. Christian and Clemence made us feel so welcomed and Sansu, the German Shepherd (bear!) made our stay even more special as he is always there to greet us!
Highly recommend a stay here, the rooms are spacious and beautifully presented. The house has various fireplaces and cosy corners to chillout at.
Easy access to Karen Blixen museum, the giraffe centre and the elephant sanctuary.
Can't wait to be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Hello Jean ,thank you for the great review its good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonsouz...
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Amazing house and even better Staff”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed for four nights and you couldn't have asked for a better place. The staff is top notch and make you feel right at home. Every meal is amazing, and the rooms are quite and very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
was a great honor to host you and team, we look forward to see you again and get many referrals from your end .
Thank you for choosing Karen Gables
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khalididr...
Khartoum, Al Khartum, Sudan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome Mansion”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We couldn't have asked for something better.

Great management and owner Chris, very friendly and decent Magnificent staff specially Silas and Fred.

Rooms are great and clean with ensuite spacious bath with twice a day room device.

The location is stunning with outdoor swimming pool and it's own water stream

It won't be the last time but a beginning of many visit to come to this stunning place.

Keep up the good work you have a beautiful mansion ❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Was great to host your family and we look forward to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ1802
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay at Karen Gables!”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had an awesome two night stay at Karen Gables! The property is beautiful and comfortable, and waking up to the sound of birds and fresh air was unexpected in Nairobi. Fred, Clemence, and Chris made our stay perfect. They also arranged a great driver for us (Martin) who was able to take us through Nairobi National Park and to all of the best spots in Karen. Highly recommend. We had breakfast and dinner at Karen Gables, both of which were spot on. Karen Gables was such a nice alternative to a big chain hotel that we probably would have stayed in otherwise. If we pass through Nairobi again, we will absolutely be back!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thanks you for staying with us and for your honest reviw5.
We look forward to see you again and host many other who will read your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre R
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a beautiful home. I loved every minute, feel lucky to have found Karen Gables and hope you can stay there as well/ Frederick, Clem and whole staff are wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
was a great pleasure hosting you ,and we look forward to hosting you and many referral's from your end.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyBick
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Karen Gables is a fantastic place to stay. You are made to feel so welcome by Clemence and Frederick. It's set in a stunning location, and you can either just chill out at the house by the pool or head into Nairobi to explore. They will help you organise day trips from the hotel. The food is incredible - the best I had during my two week stay in Kenya.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Thank you for your honest review we look forward to host u soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
594shelle...
jhb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed March 16, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about staying at Karen Gables is top class. The beautiful home, the quality of the decor (homely, full of beautiful antiques), the well manicured gardens, the amazing warm friendly staff who bend over backwards to meet your every need - (even baking a birthday cake and singing Happy Birthday in Swahili), the delicious food, the facilities (lovely rooms and bathrooms), and even an SAS trained guard dog to greet you at the door and protect you at night. I highly recommend this special place to anyone who wants a relaxed visit to Nairobi in a beautiful peaceful environment. We are definitely going back there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2017
Looking forward to host you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing