We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Chicago North Shore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Chicago North Shore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 N Milwaukee Ave, Wheeling, IL 60090-3023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Northwest, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent 2 nights here for a friends wedding and it was wonderful. Rooms are nice; great showers and very comfortable beds. Hotel bar is a little expensive but that is to be expected. Our friends wedding was amazing. Wonderful service during the reception and staff was very accommodating when it came to rearranging furniture for pictures and making sure the bride and groom had everything they needed. The presidential suite was huge and had beautiful views. If you are planning on having a wedding here I will tell ya first hand they were amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachl0ver84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    166
    59
    16
    13
See reviews for
69
63
30
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Always difficult to book this one, especially during the week. Seems to be a base for a good number of consulting teams.

Basic Westin approach. Nice rooms, Heavenly bed, great showers. Italian restaurant on-site is better than average.

As SPG Platinum, they don't do much to differentiate. Westin Executive lounge is a bit lacking; just a converted suite - limited facilities. And the aforementioned consultants take it over like a frat house. Not very relaxing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ThomMSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

One of my favorite hotels in the Northern Burbs. Several good restaurant choices within walking distance. The hotel gives the aura of a well run, clean business friendly outfit. I frequently stay there on business and am always very satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was my third stay in this hotel. Everything is fine and no complaints. Staff polite and friendly. This time I had a very large room (and paid the price so not an upgrade). The room was almost too big and therefore empty looking with a huge bathroom too. I ordered room service twice and was never disappointed. Salmon and delicious asparagus the first night, and a really tasty steak and more asparagus the second night. The housekeeping could improve a little - empty bottles of shampoo and showergel were piling up over my four night stay, and no-one thought to replace the breakfast ordering card. Beds comfortable and wifi access reasonably quick.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have been to this hotel for long weekends 3 years in a row for an October convention. The rooms, lobby decor and staff are all first rate. The convention facilities are top notch too. The kitchen and housekeeping people are hard workers and very accomodating. The exotic flowers in the lobby are a really nice touch.

Now for the concerns: They charge extra for Internet access in the rooms. The room rates are not cheap, why nickel and dime us for Internet?

And the one I find most annoying: They put 2 bottles of water in the room with nearly identical tags on them. The first one says it is free; the second one says it costs $4. It seems as if they are trying to trick you into taking the 2nd bottle of water. Treat the guests with respect, and don't use trickery to get an extra $4 out of us. Even though we did nott fall for the ruse, I felt insulted by it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My sixth time staying at the Wheeling Westin, and it was MUCH better than it was last year!

Very pleasantly surprised. The guest hallways look as though they'd been redone and renovated since last year. No stains on the carpeting and very minimal scuffs on the wall. (At least on my floor, anyway!)

The service seemed much better this year too. Everything was exactly how I had booked it and check-in was quick and easy. I recognized the same few bellhops from years past and they always do such a great job and give you prompt and courteous service. Always give you a friendly hello when you pass by.

As always, this hotel still smells wonderful, with its signature scent, Green Tea & Aloe, being piped into the lobby and pre-banquet room function areas. (Same scent as the soap, lotion and shampoo in the rooms.)

Rooms were clean and comfortable. One of the most comfortable beds I've had the pleasure of sleeping in.

This is one of my favorite hotels and I always look forward to staying here.

Room Tip: As for a room on a higher floor. Floors 3 and 4 only have a view of the roof. Rooms facing the sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
211 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I visited the Westin for the third year running in October to attend an annual expo/convention. It is always interesting to return to a hotel to see how it has improved or become worse. The Westin was just how I remebered it - clean rooms, helpful staff and a good ambience.

There are few attractions in the town of Wheeling which is in the hinterland between the suburbs of Chicago and Illinois countryside. I certainly would not recommend Wheeling as a must see destination but if you are in the area, the Westin is a good place to stay.

My only criticism of the Westin is their restaurant facilties. I like to eat in a hotel for breakfast rather than drive somewhere else. The Westin has a larger refurbished restaurant than last year but still serves almost the same buffet offerring as previously; the cost of the buffet has however increased by around $7. There tends to be 5 or 6 waiters milling around and only one of them who has any common sense or ability to communicate effectively. The food is lukewarm and rather heavy on fats and sugars.

I do like the hotel and will return by just wish they could sort out their catering.

Room Tip: High floor away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antarctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
6.4 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
1.9 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
#2 of 6 in Deerfield
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Deerfield/Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago North Shore

Property: The Westin Chicago North Shore
Address: 601 N Milwaukee Ave, Wheeling, IL 60090-3023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Chicago North Shore 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago North Shore is 16 miles north of O'Hare International Airport in the prestigious North Shore district, blending style and elegance with the convenience of a full-service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Chicago North Shore Hotel Wheeling
Westin Hotel Wheeling
Westin Wheeling
Wheeling Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing