We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Chicago North Shore
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Ok stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My spouse was on business in Illinois and we stayed in Westin North Shore in Wheeling, where the conference took place. This hotel is about 35 miles from downtown and 15 miles from O'Hare airport. Taxi or rental car would be the only way to get there from the airport. They have Metra train stop in Wheeling 2 miles from the hotel, but there is no service on weekends.My suggestion is to rent a vehicle, it will be definetely cheaper than the taxi.
When we called Westin reservations line, they offered us a free shutttle from the airport,however we chose to book through Expedia (their web- site showed shuttles available for a surcharge). When I called the hotel directly to book a shuttle, to our surprise they told thatt they don't send shuttles to the airport at all. There is nothing special to see close to the hotel, there is a Mall about 5 miles away and Botanical Gardens 10 miles away. There is a number of restaurants on Milwaukee St to choose from and there is one in the hotel.
They have a beatiful trail next to the hotel, so if you like to run, horse ride or bike you can't find a better place. I went for a walk in the morning and saw 4 deer crossing the trail.
Our room was on the 3rd floor, it was clean but the view was disappointing.Ask for top floors when you are there. They have a pool, gym and a spa- very clean and lots of towels, but no shower in the pool area.We had breakfasts in the hotel restaurant, I found them a bit too expensive.The stuff was friendly, but not well organized. We chose to cancel housekeeping and get food vouchers instead,I spoke to front desk and they assured that I would get my vouchers in the morning.The maid still came both days and, of course, no food vouchers. Overall, it was an OK stay.

Room Tip: Ask for 10+ floor for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torontasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    187
    68
    20
    14
See reviews for
82
78
34
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I've always felt like the Westin chain is on the high-end of standard business hotel chains across the country. This Westin is just a bit on the lower scale compared to other Westins I've stayed at. There are two main reasons for this feeling. One is a lack of bar scene (but you're way out in the burbs). The lobby is tiny and just not welcoming. Second is the boxiness of the room. We were upgraded to a junior suite. It didn't feel like a suite at all. The room was a complete square and just had a couch and chair thrown into the room next to the bed. That's not really a suite. It did provide more room for getting around but just didn't feel welcoming. There really is no view from any angle since you're way up north and just a little too far inland to see any water. The rooms were very clean and had the modern/transitional decor you expect from any Westin. Additional things to consider:
- no mini bar. There is a fridge that's empty.
- single sink in the bathroom.
- traditional "Starwood" double shower head is always a nice touch

Really, you can stay here if you are in and out for just one night or for business, but don't expect anything luxurious and no pleasant surprises. Just your basic business hotel with nice bedding and well cleaned.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journ3eb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel during my business trip to Chicago; Was recommended by a fellow colleague; The rooms were very spacious and the restaurants in and around the place were extremely good. It had a separate club room for SPG members which was well stocked and organized.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitin_gup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I'll keep this short. I was at this hotel for a conference. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We checked in late(2am)but the woman working the front desk when we checked in was incredibly pleasant and accomodating (as were all the employees we interacted with). We needed a fold away bed for one of our teens and we were expecting one of the beds with springs poking you in the back all night. Not so. It was the same bed as the ones in the room only a twin.
And the beds, ahh, the beds. Best hotel bed I have ever slept in. I have never slept in a hotel bed and wanted to take the bed and the ohh so soft comforter home with me. Large showers with double heads. And they must have one super water softener because I didnt even use conditioner and my hair was as soft as could be :)
I can honestly say I was not expecting anything near this nice when we booked the hotel. I cannot recommend the Westin enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The staff at this hotel, including front desk and restaurant, were very rude and unhelpful. The room rate charged on my bill was $40 more per night than it was supposed to be. When I went to the front desk to correct my bill, the front desk person was very rude, would not even look at me, and made the whole process more difficult than it needed to be. I wasn't even mad or trying to cause a problem, but she made a simple change into a very uncomfortable situation. I was also promised a $5 credit for selecting the "green" option of not having my room cleaned each day. When I went back to her to ask for the credit, she told me I couldn't use it even though the card clearly stated that I could. She claimed she had to ask the manager, then went to the office in the back for over 10 minutes, came back and did not even say a word to me. She finally gave me the credit but, again, made it a very uncomfortable and difficult situation. The restaurant staff was also rude and didn't seem to want to take my order... at dinner time. I cannot understand why they were all so rude. It ruined our entire stay. I would never stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The staff is polite and friendly. Hotel is about a hour drive from Chicago center.

A complimentary shuttle service is available for transportation in the area. We used this each day to the train station where we caught the train down to Union Station. On the return, they would come and pick you up if you called ahead. They also gave our group a ride to a local restaurant and came and got us when we were finished. This shuttle service really makes this hotel.

There are great restaurants in the area. Some are within walking distance while others are a short drive away. We never tried the restaurants in the hotel.

In room coffee maker and coffee in the lobby each morning. Bring your own bottled water. The bottles in the room are $4.50 each. The in-room coolatron (cooler) is purely ornamental and will not keep anything cool. Ice is available.

The bed was comfy and room kept very clean. Plenty of water pressure on the 4th floor. The elevator is quick but hated the buzzing sound for each floor.

Parking is free but way over to the side of the building. Valet parking is available for $15 per day.

We used the pool and hot tub. Both were clean and uncrowded. The change rooms are just washrooms with no change stalls.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
#2 of 6 in Deerfield
536 reviews
6.4 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Deerfield/Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago North Shore

Property: The Westin Chicago North Shore
Address: 601 N. Milwaukee Ave., Wheeling, IL 60090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Chicago North Shore 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 16 miles north of O’Hare International Airport in the stylish North Shore district, The Westin Chicago North Shore blends style and elegance with the convenience of a full-service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Chicago North Shore Hotel Wheeling
Westin Hotel Wheeling
Westin Wheeling
Wheeling Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing