We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor service”
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
Ranked #15 of 90 Restaurants in Wheeling
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Wolf Road
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Chicago Il
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had to wait twenty minutes. Once we were in, there were several empty tables. The wait for drinks was too long. When the waitress brought me my beer, she was holding the bottle from the top, and the glass from the top. I just find that to be disquisting. We had to ask several times for butter, and lemon wedges.
The food was very good.
I thought this was a leye.com restaurant, but I was wrong. We will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larrymartin107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    27
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A good Place for Lunch or Maybe Family Dinner”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

At Lunch on a Monday, this place was pretty quiet. Except for us, the entire room was pairs of "Ladies who Lunch". The Lunch menu has individual size items, most of which are $10 - 15, a bit high for lunching. We started with cold, slightly stale bread with a dab of Olive oil, poured by the server - the oil was never refilled, a bad sign. Fortunately, the entre's were pretty good - the Chicken Limone (1 small breast half) comes with Fettuchine Alfredo; the Penne San Remo was a good pasta dish. If you want dessert, be hungry, because most are $10-14 and, presumably, large - not ideal for Lunch. Service was good, but a bit detached. Just don't come here alone at night on a business trip, because then you have to order at least a "double order" of everything, so even couples had better have agreeable tastes. Overall, the kitchy decor works and the place is worth it if you are well funded by your late Husband's estate.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joecompute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Solid Italian”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Pizza, bruschetta, and chicken rigatoni were good, salads and a few of the other things were OK. It's chain italian, but they do a decent job.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan7482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Fun lively place that is fun”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Great place with large group with variety of pastas and salads for all. They are good at accomodating large groups and offer large portions for people to share.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank pmazcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chef's Table Delight”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

They have a table in the kitchen where you can see them prepare the food and they will come by your table to show the different dishes being taken to patrons in the restaurant.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing