We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Business Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Business Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I chose this hotel based on it's location to the business community i was visiting. Although I read tripadvisor reviews before booking my expectations were not high based upon price. I figured that as long as the rooms were clean that for the low price I could put up with lower standard. How very wrong I was (and i'm a very picky Englishman!). The hotel staff were couteous, polite and efficient checking me in. The room was a very large suite with all the bits and pieces needed to be self sufficient, comfortable sofa and chairs and very large comfortable bed. I will be visiting the area every few months and will certainly book here again. My only complaint would be that the toiletries were never replaced so I ran out after my second night. Maybe there is a system I dont know about yet but i would still expect this to be a basic requirement. This is the picky englishman in me again and should not detract from a great experience. Good job to the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemoon099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornsuitesMgmnt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hawthorn Suites-Wheeling! This is a great detailed review that I am sure will be very helpful to other people searching for a hotel in our area. We appreciate the positive feedback and are so glad you feel you received such a great value. When it comes to our toilet treat we try to make sure you have an extra set under the sink, however if you prefer more you can always contact the desk and we will be more than happy to give you more. ! We look forward to serving you during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    102
    54
    34
    14
See reviews for
92
39
30
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great place to stay at a great value. We stayed one night and it was a great stay for a great rate. The room was very clean. They have a breakfast set up in which they offer muffins juice coffee. The front desk told me there would be a hot breakfast in the future which will be a great addition to the hotel. The rooms are spacious and they all have a kitchen i stayed one night for work and I do plan on staying in the future when in town again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rivera000123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornsuitesMgmnt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hawthorn Suites and taking the time to give us such a nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our property so much and were informed of our hot breakfast coming soon! We look forward to serving you during your next stay with us!

Hawthorn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a great hotel for the price. I was a little skeptical when my husband booked it, but I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The towels are thick and the sheets are soft. Those are two of my requirements. The other is a good shower, and it had that too. Not having breakfast wasn't a problem; we don't eat the type of food that is normally served at a budget hotel. The location is off the main roads, but we still found it without a problem.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor are more updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornsuitesMgmnt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Christy,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hawthorn Suites Wheeling and provided us with this wonderful feedback. We hope you will choose our hotel again for any other stays you will have in the Chicago land area. We will be completely renovating the property beginning this Spring through the Summer and will have new decor and a full hot breakfast, so next time you stay we hope you will be ever more impressed with our property. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Hawthorn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 2 in Prospect Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westin Chicago North Shore
1.7 mi away
Hilton Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 4 in Northbrook
4.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago/Mt. Prospect
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Deerfield/Lincolnshire
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glenview-Chicagoland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling
Address: 8000 Capitol Dr, Wheeling, IL 60090-6478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection by Sealy Posturepedic. Wake up to a fresh cup of coffee! Wheeling, an all-suite property, is the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment or temporary housing. Each suite consists of a fully equipped kitchen: dinnerware, silverware, pots and pans, dishwasher, stove top and a full size refrigerator with an ice-maker. Working area has a spacious desk with two-line phone, voicemail and complimentary high-speed Internet service. Relax in an oversized lounge chair while watching your favorite shows on HD cable TVs. To curb those late night munchies, visit our designated vending machine area. You have a companion? No problem! We re pet friendly. Conveniently located west of Interstate 294, 30 minutes from Chicago and only 10 miles north of O'Hare Airport, we are a perfect location if you re visiting the North Shore, Rosemont or the Northwest Suburbs area. Located only blocks away from Chicago Executive Airport and many of the Fortune 500 Companies, only a couple miles away from the Westin Chicago North Shore Conference Center, we are a perfect fit for a night or a temporary home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago - Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Candlewood Suites Wheeling
Candlewood Wheeling
Wheeling Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing