We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verdict Restaurant

Verdict Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 134 Restaurants in Wheaton
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The egg orders come with toast, hash browns or fruit. My 2 eggs with the best and biggest rye toast I have ever seen and hash browns was very good. Grandsons had pancakes which were a big hit and many pieces of bacon were consumed with gusto by 2 of them. Excellent Papa Nicholas coffee was just what was needed after a cold, windy football game just up the street at Graf Park. This was a busy place on a Saturday and orders did take a short while but coffee and drinks came quickly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-Wilmywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant twice and been disappointed both times. It is conveniently located near the county courthouse, which is probably where it gets most of its business from. The food is not great and the environment seems very dated. It reminds me of dive diners along the roadside from 40 years ago, but the food is worse.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank haroldHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have only good things to say about the Verdict. The food is consistently good, it's reasonably priced and the portions are generous. I usually order breakfast but their salads and soups are great, too. The thing that amazed me most on my last visit was that the manager and hostess (maybe the owners?) greeted most of the patrons by name. The place has a nice vibe and I enjoy going there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maddie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

Nice bang for your buck. Large portions and an even larger menu too choose from.this is not a gourmet restaurant and you are not paying for it either.i enjoy the gyros when I get dinner.for breakfast go with anything on the menu! Ehich I thonk is available all day.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank relaxing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
1 review
“Food is OK, service was marginal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

The food at the Verdict is not bad. However, I have been very disappointed with the service that I have received. I have dined at the Verdict a number of times, and am always shocked at the lack of flexibility that is offered. The last time I went there, I asked if I could substitute a side of fries, soup, and a fruit cup for a small salad, and was refused. That was my last visit. The Verdict should make more of an effort to show their customers that they are valued and appreciated if they want to retain some loyalty.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pixy306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verdict Restaurant also viewed

 
Wheaton, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 

Been to Verdict Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing