We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic authentic”
Review of El Zarape

El Zarape
Ranked #67 of 135 Restaurants in Wheaton
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic authentic”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The best Mexican food in Wheaton, bar none. Best if you appreciate a more authentic taste of your Mexican food. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    2
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“El Zarape Good Value”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

El Zarape has very good food for the price. The food is basic mexican fare done well. It's s no fuss kinda place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwl1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield
Level Contributor
168 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This family owned restaurant not only serves authentic Mexican food, the price is extremely reasonable as well. Whether you are waiting to have some excellent enchaladas, tacos, or frijoles, you can't make a bad selection. Waitresses will help you with your Spanish if you are so inclined to use it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DuffleBag2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reasonable Cost”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I like the vegetarian options, and the smoky-flavored sauce. Their margarita is my favorite in the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst experience of my dining life!!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have eaten at El Zarape and enjoyed the Tacos Longy on many lunch occasions, but today was extremely different. I will not be eating there again. (partially because the "owner" said "don't come back." To make a very long story shorter, my wife and I's bill was almost 10 dollars higher than the menu said. I had asked for the lunch special to be changed to a combo. I asked the waiter what the upcharge was and he told me it was 3 dollars. That changed the total from 6.95 to 9.95. Not a big deal considering the extra rice and beans. I also had ordered a tea, which was a little strong for me. After being frustrated by no waiter returning after more than 20 minutes, I decided to drink the tea anyway since no drink with tacos isn't the best combination. When he finally returned, I politely asked if I could switch my tea drink for a coke the next time since it was a little strong for me. The waiter politely said "sure." He brought me the coke and we finished our meal. At the end of the meal, I left a 20 percent tip, despite the poor wait staff service (because we always tip 20 percent minimum). I then received the bill which had charged us extra money for the combo, extra money for the drink and had changed my wife's order to a combo, despite us requesting for it not to be a combo twice. I said to the owner that the charge was much higher than expected. He told me that since I had two drinks that I would have to pay for two drinks, and that "ALL businesses charge extra if you change drinks, especially when that first drink was almost empty." I responded saying that I had asked the waiter if I could switch, and he had said fine. I said that if it was going to be an extra charge to switch that they should inform the customer. He then said, "well then why was your drink almost empty if you didn't like it." I said that I had been waiting for someone to come back to the table for 20 minutes so that I could switch the drink but no one came so I drank it anyway so that I could enjoy the food. I didn't even get the chance to talk to him about the additional upcharges and discrepancies before he said, "can you just be quiet and listen to me!!!???" I said I am trying to explain to you what happened so that you can understand the situation. He then raised his voice at me, and said "stop talking." I then said "excuse me. I have never been treated like this at a restaurant before." He interrupted me, and said, "you need to leave right now and don't come back." Not sure where the hostility came from. Overall, food is pretty good, price is a little high for lunch, make sure to ask about all of the charges ahead of time (not that it helped me any) but since I'm not allowed back anyway, good luck to any of you that try it out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Zarape also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 

Been to El Zarape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing