We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reenactments”

First Division Museum at Cantigny
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Wheaton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum with interactive exhibits on the trenches of WWI, the beaches of WWII and the rice paddies of Vietnam.
Chicago, IL
1 review
“Reenactments”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

There are both Civil War and Revolutionary War reenactments that are excellent. Check their calendar. The museum itself is also excellent. Well worth the effort.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoLeeChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    19
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I went to this museum on a family trip and both of my brothers love history, me less so. That said this Museum was really done well. Excellent interactive exhibits for kids and really shows how our infranty fought several wars. The tanks out side were very accessable and the kids could climb all over them. the kids really liked it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very engaging exhibits”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was one of the best small-scale museums I've been to. They had a ton of really interesting relics/facts on display. Strollers are allowed in the main building area, but not in the exhibit area, which was a plus, because it would have been too crowded with a bunch of oversized strollers trying to navigate through the path.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This museum appeals to anyone with a sense of history. While it details the history of the 1st Army Division, it is broader than that. The kids love the tanks out front. The tour through the simulated trenches of World War I, the landing craft on the beaches of World War II are especially well presented.

Helpful?
Thank Don30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family friendly engaging museum”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Family friendly engaging museum. Often take visitors here, very well put together and has something for everyone. Combine it with the gardens and the home on the property and no one will be disappointed!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TripsterJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Division Museum at Cantigny also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
Lisle, DuPage County
 

Been to First Division Museum at Cantigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing