We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the right size!”
Review of Cosley Zoo

Cosley Zoo
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Wheaton
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just the right size!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Cosley Zoo is a hidden gem in Wheaton. It is on about 6 acres and is very easy to enjoy in a morning or afternoon. Cosley Zoo has domestic and Illinois native wildlife, the exhibits and walk ways are very nice and they have a picnic area.

The gift shop is wonderful and very well kept.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    57
    15
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place for kids”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We always get our Christmas tree there. During December they have a festival of lights, so once we've picked out a tree, we wander through the zoo at night to see the animals. These are native Midwestern animals in well-kept grounds, along with some farm animals. It's small enough to see in a short time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank smiminithix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosley Park, Makes me feel young again!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's the kind of park you can visit on the way home from school or going to or from the market or after the dentist or as a bribe to get the grass cut. Well you get the idea. It has a littlle of everything, without too much of anything. I suppose it's a zoo, but it feels more like a farm. Cosley Park is probably more suited for young children, but I love it and sadly I'm a long way from being a child. There is always something new an fun, especially around the holidays. By the way, it's a great place to pick up your Christmas tree.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice little animal experience for small children.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Christmas is the time to visit Cosley. The lights are up and some animals are around. It's a great hour break to get out and walk around with the little ones.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosley Zoo”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The name zoo is a little misleading. They do have some animals, but not what you would think of in a zoo. Mostly this is a farm type place with a couple of horses, some pigs, lots of ducks, some sheep, a cow, a few deer, raccoons, foxes, but not your usual zoo type animals like giraffes, monkeys, lions, etc. It is free and you can get up closer to the animals, but it is best for very young kids.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walker36877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosley Zoo also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 
Lombard, DuPage County
Lisle, DuPage County
 

Been to Cosley Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing