We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosistently good”
Review of Bakersfield

Bakersfield
Reserve with OpenTable
Bakersfield is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 102 Restaurants in Westmont
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blackhawk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosistently good”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've been here four times since it has opened and have enjoyed the food, ambiance, and service on each visit. There is significant variety both in terms of cuisine and cost such that it appeals to a wide variety of tastes and budgets. I can go for a sandwich and a beer or nice piece of fish and some good wine. Both are great in that I can go for a spur-of-the-moment bite to eat or for a special occasion. The knuckle sandwich is a delicious, chunky lobster treat. I've also had some delicious halibut, bacon wrapped shrimp, and cajun trout for dinners. They have great sides to go along with the dinners including smashed potatoes, and various grilled veggie concoctions. For a light dessert, try the berries and nectarines with a balsamic reduction and whipped cream or, for something a little more decadent, try the tres leches cake with caramel sauce (awesome!).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dccarter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    18
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
451 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Gluten-Free friendly”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband has been going here for lunch the past couple of weeks and loves their salads. Their cornbread croutons are even gluten-free. We went for dinner a couple of nights ago and the server was very knowledgable and helpful about what gluten-free options (including french fries) we could have (no GF menu yet). We both had the fish special. I was delicious and we are looking forward to going again and trying out other items on the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenapastore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
192 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent new choice in the Western Suburbs”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The menu is fresh and the wait staff have service perfected. All night, we received great service from many people in the restaurant. The service is not isolated to one waiter or waitress. The wine choice is excellent. The food is fresh and the menu has a wide variety. Bakersfield has worked through their start-up issues and now offer a nice dinner option at a relaxing pace on a Friday night. Great option for the end of the week.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCA_DG-IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
200 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Excellent Upscale Eatery”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have been here twice for lunch. Food and service were flawless each time. Some recommendations:
- The Knuckle Sandwich - their version of a lobster salad sandwich
- Filet Mignon sliders. These four are easily enough for a lunch entree
- Crab Louis Salad. I am not a big iceberg lettuce fan, but that is the standard ingredient, and this was well executed
- Crunch Thai Shrimp appetizer. This is served as lettuce wraps. Had a very nice cilantro kick.

They also get points for a small but truly outstanding selection of microbrews on tap, including stellar selections from Two Brothers, Lakefront, and Dogfish Head breweries.

Only been there for lunch, but dinner is on our plans.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Man23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakersfield also viewed

 
Downers Grove, DuPage County
Westmont, DuPage County
 

Been to Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing