We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, convenient & fun!”

Standard Market Grill
Ranked #4 of 102 Restaurants in Westmont
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Casual, convenient & fun!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Really liked the concept and very impressed by the quality of the food items! Also, we were treated very well by the staff and loved how friendly and upbeat they are! Not a big fan of ordering at the counter and then finding a seat, but it's a casual place, so it works. With the available staff, would love to see it become a wait on table type restaurant; the food would definitely warrant this upgrade! Very clean and well-kept with a bright dining area and sunroom for seating, as well as outdoor seating in good weather! Ideal for a quick bite or stop off while picking up items in the gorgeous grocery store!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    38
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Food for Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The high-end food market is an experience in itself, and the casual window-ordering eating area give high quality food and pleasant service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice concept in food store dining”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Specialty food stores are a recent trend that I have noted in my travels. What set the Grill apart is that the food store works well with the restaurant.

True, the service is pretty weak, but I did not expect to be overwhelmed. Take the place for what it is.

Foodwise, the menu has multiple good options- especially the sweet potatoes and mustard dip. Also, the restaurant has the luxury of picking from the foodstore in the event items run short.

Overall- it's a nice experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlobel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eat elsewhere! Believe me!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Horrible untrained service staff. Good food but overpriced. Did I say "horrible service"? Ignored at the hostess desk while checking in on our reservation. Mostly absent waitress. Wrong bill delivered. No bread basket. No refills. Tried three times to correct a cocktail and still it was worse than poor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Vegi Burger”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

One of the best Vegi Burgers that I've had in a while. Sweet Potato fries are great too. Staff is friendly...some good craft beers on tap too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Standard Market Grill also viewed

 
Westmont, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 
Westmont, DuPage County
Westmont, DuPage County
 

Been to Standard Market Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing