We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent little cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penrhyn Bay, Llandudno, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jdcourier...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent little cottage”
Reviewed November 17, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

just returned from a week away, celebrating our wedding anniversary. beautiful cottage tucked away in penrhynside. great facilities, parked in village hall, short walk to cottage no problem. cottage has everything you need, clean, cosy and lovely and warm. lovely little patio garden, safe for dogs. 2 dog friendly pubs close by. beautiful walks on your doorstep which our lurcher thoroughly enjoyed. llandudno was within walking distance. short distance to little orme with chance to see the seals. fantastic time, already booked to come back just need to stay longer as there is so much to see and do. thanks robin and fiona for a great stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham H
Ashby De La Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was the perfect retreat for my wife and me. Although the cottage is in a tightly packed narrow street, it is peaceful and feels very private, with wonderful views. The little patio at the front is strategically hedged off from others, but with clear views across the countryside and sea as one sits at the garden table. The cottage itself is of genuine historical interest, but is thoroughly modern in its facilities. It is clean, and thoughtfully decorated and equipped, with a very comfortable bed. We were able to truly relax and returned home refreshed.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Distance from amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your holiday at Craiglwyd Bach, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time there. The property being the best of both worlds, with plenty of character and modern conveniences sounds fabulous, and add that lovely little outdoor area to take advantage of the views and this place sounds like it had it all! We certainly hope you return to enjoy it again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g4ms
yeovil england
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“home from home for two”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Right from the start we were well looked after by the owners who met us to take us the last 300 yards to the cottage, which is up a hill and narrow lane and then helped us unload our car. We were then given a quick introduction to the what was in the cottage. We later found some milk and two slices of bara bree( cant spell) . The pictures didn't do justice to the bedroom which had a lovely super king size bed and didn't make the room feel small. The lounge area has a small table and chairs , a double settee and single chair which were comfortable for us, a tv with built in dvd player and even some dvd's there for us . The shower / bathroom is small but perfectly fine. The kitchen had all you need to cook your meals for two people. There are plenty of cups, glasses, pots, pans etc .We cooked most nights in it with no problems. The weather wasn't great so we were glad of the lovely central heating, which we could put on longer if needed. We didn't use the log burner. The tables and chairs outside were fine for a coffee with great views. Another nice touch was the book with plenty of information about the local area,such as good places to eat and visit. We used the local pub which was really good with great real ale but doesn't do food, the up side was we talked with the locals who were there with their dogs.This holiday felt like staying in a friends annex rather than a holiday let. A great holiday ,thank you Robin and Fiona

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was bigger than we thought.
Liked least: For my wife the narrow lane to the cottage but for me it was the front door could be difficult to lock.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie M
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very pretty cottage - but!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is very pretty and everything a historic cottage should be. But the access to this cottage is extremely steep and not for most older people.
Robin, the owner was very helpful on the first day. Unfortunately the weather for the first half of the week was very cold, wet and windy and we needed the woodburner. We were surprised to find out that wood was only suplied for the 1st day and that after that the guest book suggested that B&Q or a local builders merchant would be the place to go and buy some logs. Well, this was Sunday so we tried B&Q and they didn't have logs - so eventually we found the Home Bargains in Llandudno had them. It took about a sack a day to keep the fire going. It is the first of many holiday cottages we have rented that asked us to supply our own fuel.
The cottage is very pretty and the views from the kitchen are excellent and inside it is clean and well equipped. The super king-sized bed was clean and warm in a very pretty bedroom. The lounge has a small 'cottage' settee and one chair which we found small and somewhat uncomfortable. A nice big settee would have been very welcome. My husband had backache throughout from sitting on the settee to read, which made driving difficult for him.

When the weather finally cleared we could have our coffee on the patio - but again the iron patio chairs and table were tiny and not at all comfortable. The patio was not secure for our two small dogs and in the end we gave it up. All in all - a delightfully pretty cottage but with several things that let it down and made the holiday a bit disappointing.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The prettiness of the cottage
Liked least: The location and the problems with furnishings as described
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmfrost
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect long weekend with the dog”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Where to start?? This cottage is absolutely brilliant. We arrived early, but Robin ushered us in and showed us around, regardless. The place is clean and neat, and it feels very spacious for its size. The kitchen is well equipped; they even supply tea and coffee (AND a couple of gravy treats for the dog!!). The decor is exactly what you'd want: country cottage, antique furniture, solid floors, etc. The high ceilings and exposed beams are beautiful. The extra touches which Robin and Fiona supplied are really what made our stay special: they have left torches in strategic places for a midnight foray, and they were happy to bring us extra wood for the log burner. They even left two slices of bara brith and some butter for us to have when we first arrived, and it was the nicest bara brith I've had in a long time!!

The village has a couple of lovely pubs (we went to watch the rugby in a pleasing sea of red) with real ales and friendly locals. The proximity to Llandudno is great, but the views are even better. Getting up the single lane track was a little bit scary for us city folk the first time, especially when meeting a 4x4 coming the other way, but it wasn't difficult to access once we'd go used to it.

One thing to bear in mind is that the cottage is a bit cold. It's a stone building which has been around for over 200 years, so that goes without saying. It's not a problem though, just make sure you bring slippers and light the fire early so that it's got time to heat the space. The central heating also works really well, and Robin encouraged us to put it on as much as we needed. I was worried I might be cold getting out of the shower, but it wasn't a problem at all with the radiators blasting out plenty of heat. The bed is really warm and comfortable, too.

If you're not a dog owner, this would still be a great cottage to visit - there's no evidence of dogs there at all - but if you are a dog owner, I couldn't think of anywhere better to stay as a base for going walking and playing about on the beach. You can easily walk to the beach from the cottage. Our pooch loved sitting in front of the fire after an afternoon of chasing pebbles and playing chicken with the waves!

There's also a great collection of DVDs and books in the cottage, to while away a few hours if the weather's bad. Alternatively, you could just do what we did and spend hours staring at the fire!

All in all, highly recommended, and we can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Best features are the log burner and the views (as well as the overall feel of the property)
Liked least: Worst part was coming home :(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne W
1 review
“The views from the cottage are amazing...”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We loved the place and especially the views from the cottage. We had a lovely time and would definitely go back there if we visited North Wales again. It was lovely to go back to the cottage at the end of the day and sit and look at the views. The dogs really enjoyed the holiday and the walks on the hills and the West Shore beach. Robyn pointed us in the right direction for everything and helped us to make this holiday a memorable one!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwwandere...
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This little cottage is a real gem and is situated in a lovely elevated position with views out to the sea. Inside it feels more like you are being invited to share someone's private home rather than a holiday cottage because it is so well kept and cosy. The whole cottage is very comfortable but the huge bed deserves special mention for comfort. All facilities are provided, the only exception being a hair dryer.
The location is excellent for exploring the whole of northwest Wales. As others have mentioned the access road is rather narrow and steep but there is very little traffic so we had no problem even with a larger car, and on most nights we were able to park at the village hall which is only a few minutes away on foot.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable week here and would recommend Craiglwyd Bach to anyone.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy tranquility
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing