We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Navy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Reviewed May 28, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,313)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Nereida T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This Ramada was the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in. Not only was it literally falling apart, it was disorganized and completely sub par. Upon arrival our room had three towels for a booking of six (so we would have each had to share towels), the pool had not towels and even the next day when we showered there were still no towels available, we used hand towels to dry off. There was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and we killed a carpenter ant on our night stand. The hallways reeked and wallpaper peeled from the walls everywhere. The continental breakfast took 45 minutes to obtain due to poor organization. We cancelled our second night booked and drove over four hours to get home that night after visiting six flags. Apparently this hotel is not an official Ramada but contracts to use their name. If I were Ramada I would revisit this agreement.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Valerie M,
Words cannot express the dismay that I felt after reading your experience. I'm sorry about this being your worst hotel stay ever. I would really welcome the opportunity to speak to you about these events. I hope to hear from you soon.

Ron Shelton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The stench of age-old cigarette smoke hits you in the face when you walk up the antiquated stairway up to the non-smoking floor. I used to smoke, and am not an hipocritical ex smoker. Paint peeling in critical hallways with signs asking us to excuse the disrepair. Coat of paint would fix it. Only one tv in master suite, which cannot be viewed adequately from suite or bed. Obviously caters only to the military crowd. I felt ripped off. I paid for a nice Ramada hotel and got third world standards. I'm embarrassed for Ramada.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank bentlyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Bently B,

We are sorry about your experience. We're in the process of a renovation and are working very hard to improve our product for our guests. We are very sorry that your experience and hotel stay did not meet up to your standards of other Ramada Branded hotels. I most assure you that we have completed many areas of the hotel with fresh paint and other upgrades to enhance our experience. We are working diligently to ensure this is done in a fast and timely manner so we can share our newly, renovated hotel with our returning guests as well as new guests. I welcome additional feedback at any time.

Sincerely,

Ron Shelton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our sons Navy boot camp graduation. Musty smelling, carpet stained, sagging beds, broken clock, wires exposed, broken security door. Arrived too
Late to search for another hotel, so
Slept on top of the bed in our street clothes and socks on so we wouldn't have to
Step on the carpet barefoot

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Teri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Teri R.,

We are currently amidst a renovation continuing into our guest rooms and hallways, to assist in these odor issues and replace the carpets you speak of. Our Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses with pillow tops can be too soft for some. I'm sorry you felt too uncomfortable to relax in our beds. Thank you for sharing your helpful observations.

Warmest regards,

Ron Shelton
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

It was terrible... Smelly rooms, hot tub not working, stained pillows/no extra pillows in the reception, no towels for three days, to loud and dirty hall ways. They really need to work in the hotel a full remodeling will be nice for all the future navy families to be.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Adriana F.,

We really are working in the hotel to make a full remodeling of the hotel and make it nice for all the future Navy families to be. We began with our public areas of the hotel; renovating our Base 42 Bar and Grill, lobby, meeting spaces, and pool deck. Remodeling is continuing into guest rooms and hallways now. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to share your sailor's Navy graduation with us. We are privileged to share these proud moments with families like yours.

Warmest regards,

Ron Shelton
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes

Address: 200 N Green Bay Rd, Grand Ave & Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: $61 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waukegan Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Ramada Inn Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing