We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Waupun
2 reviews
“Beware of this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went to see our son graduate from Navy boot camp in IL. We stayed at the Ramada in Waukegan IL. There were 5 of us in room 165. We stayed from May 2 – May 5. The lobby was presentable. The gift shop had only about 10 shirts in it. When we arrived we had asked for a rollaway bed they said they would put us on the list and call us to let us know where we were on the list. The bar was closed due to not having a liquor license. The food in the restaurant was good but not much to chose from. The hot tub had black curly hair floating in it. Gross! When we arrived to our room there was a message on the phone stating we were first on the list for the rollaway bed and they would call when one was available. On Saturday we call the front desk to see if a rollaway was available yet they said they would check. We went out to see our son and when we got back they had delivered the bed. Our room had a smell of mold when you opened the door. When we looked around the room the ceilings had mold on it. It looked like they tried to clean it with bleach but it didn’t work. There was a spider on the ceiling in the corner with a spider web. The drawers of the dresser had food crumbs in them. The wallpaper was peeling off and in some spots it was all bubbled out from water damage. The air/heat vent was all broken and the outside cover was all bent over and missing screws. The vent in the bathroom didn’t work having us to leave the bathroom door cracked open to let the steam out of the bathroom. There was mold on the bottom of the tub where it meets the floor. The doorframe was rotted out leaving a hole in it. The walls on the walk to the pool area had hole on the top that meets the ceiling and in places had mold. The halls stunk! The outside window ledges had mold all over them. Bricks on the outside of the building were missing. The window in our room had no screen on it so we couldn't even open the window to help with the mold smell in our room. The room 2 doors down had a pipe break and water went into the hall and in two other rooms. They only used a fan to try a dry the hall up leaving a nasty smell in the hall. We had requested a different room and they told us they were booked. We called other hotels in the area with them all being booked also due to graduation. They took nothing off our bill and made us pay $10.00 for the rollaway bed. Our total cost was $249.76 for 3 nights and 4 day with a cost of $83.25 per day. On Sunday we left early due to me being very sick. On Monday I went to my doctor and he told me I had a toxic poisoning due to the mold in the room. I am now on 3 different medications for 14 days and have missed a day of work because I was so sick. We have stayed at the Ramada’s in different states before and have enjoyed our stays but this Ramada was just disgusting and will turn us to other hotels in the future. So everyone beware before you decide to stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Wayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    179
    277
    294
    347
See reviews for
896
100
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

for the price, my room and entire area location smelled like a smoking room. my room even had ash trays placed in it so i was skeptical. my stay was ok tho.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Falmouth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel was great, nice rooms and wonderful breakfast. The shuttle to the graduation and location of Hotel were convenient for our trip

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at the hotel because it was only 3 miles from six flags great America.
We were tired and hungry when we got to the hotel, so we decided just to eat at their restaurant. The hostess sat us right away and gave us water and the smallest menu we had ever seen! Then we sat there. Nobody came back! We left and ate at McDonalds.
The room was alright for the price, shower was great and beds are average. No non feather pillows in the room. Had to ask font desk for them. Which they did bring to our room in a timely matter. Wanted to make coffee the next morning, but the maker had sooo much dust on it I didn't bother. House keeping could step it up a little! They did make sure we had extra towels though!
( I left them 5 bucks and a note! ) No clean towels in pool area!

Room Tip: Go to Best Western!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justme04_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

it's an older hotel. First off; DO NOT base staying here off of those pictures. THEY ARE PHOTOSHOPPED! our sports team stayed here for a weekend tournament. first the positive: It's easy to get in and out of. rooms are tiny, but clean. The negatives: Paper thin walls make for no sleep. You will hear slamming doors, rednecks fighting in the hall, crying children. If you get a bottom floor room, you also get the added pleasure of a creaky ceiling.
Our bathtub didnt drain, the bathroom itself is extremely small making it difficult to move around. This place has a pool, which seems nice. But once you are there you will notice that it's not what it seems. vomit in the pool,, and just a bunch of chlorine dumped daily. One night, We left the pool area and outside of the doors someone had vomited. The police were also on scene a few times during our stay. I think this place is where all the locals party. Its cavernous and the hallways are like catacombs. Very unsafe for children. STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and stay somewhere more deserving of your hard earned cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelschmotel36657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waukegan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 200 N Green Bay Rd, Grand Ave & Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waukegan Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Ramada Inn Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing