We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not up to Ramada Inn's standards” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Greenup
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not up to Ramada Inn's standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had to come to Waukegan for business. I had to stay two days. We (family members ) rented four rooms total for two nights. It was a 9 1/2 hour drive so I chose your hotel due to the hot tub, indoor pool, and sauna. I have back trouble and wanted the above at my disposal to relax and soothe my aches and pains. I also had family from the Navy base to join me during my stay. When we finally got someone to help us the guy finally turned the hot tub on and the water shot straight up in the air instead across the hot tub. The guy just laughted and shrudded his shoulders. The sauna was out of order. I stayed two days. When I checked out I told the lady at the desk. She proceeded to check me out and then as I was leaving she asked if there was anything more she could do ? I asked her what she had done at all to help ? She then asked if I would like to speak to manager to possible have some money taken off my bill. I said yes. When she came back she informed me that the manager wasn't available but she gave me his card. (Clint Cissell, General Manager at 1-847-244-2400) I tried several times to follow up with this manager but to no avail. I am very, very disappointed in Ramada Inn at this location.Why print phone numbers on business cards and hand them out as the General Manager if you never intended to answer or help the customers ?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    179
    277
    294
    347
See reviews for
896
100
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monee, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The whole place is dark and dreary. Cold on top of it with a poor heating system. Good restarant at the hotel but pretty pricey. Staff was polite and courteous. There is no good shopping in the immediate vacinity. Would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waukegan hotels

Scotia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here when attending my son's graduation from Navy boot camp. The facility is very run down. The lobby is under construction and what is done looks very nice. However, it doesn't look like the remodeling is going to be finished any time soon. The hallways and our room had an unpleasant smell. I initially thought we had received a smoking room in error because of the smell. The room was clean and roomy and the bathroom was also clean. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything in the next rooms and hallway. The bed was comfortable enough. There was no wi-fi which was very inconvenient. They do hold a Meet and Greet for Navy families which was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel photos are a little misleading. The rooms are good sized but the bathroom was tiny. One person was almost too much for the bathroom. The rooms didn't have a fridge or a microwave. The doors had the "old school" chain locks. The pool isn't quite as big as it looks in the photos. It was good sized but cold, probably in the low 70's. The hot tub was great and the sauna was out of order which was a little disappointing.

The floor in front of our bathroom is warped and it flexes when you step on it. My main complaint with this hotel is that when you go downstairs to get the breakfast or talk to anyone at the hotel, or leave the hotel in general, you have to breathe in a heavy cigarette smoke scent. It's horrible.

The breakfast was average, I have had better and worse. They do offer a shuttle to the graduation which was nice, we didn't use it but there were a lot of people who seemed to.

The front desk didn't seem to interested in helping us when the room next to us had the t.v. blaring all night and when we went down to say something in the morning (the t.v. was still on and blaring) they said there was nothing they could do because we didn't call the front desk in the middle of the night and complain, which I think is a total crock. We weren't asking for a refund or anything, we just wanted them to tell whomever it was to turn it down.

Overall the hotel was average. I personally will probably never stay here again, if ever in Chicago. I just wasn't impressed at all.

I do understand that the hotel is under construction but I have no idea what they are changing because we haven't heard any noise or anything but they would have to remodel a whole lot for me to ever stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Hotel was non smoking, but all I could smell - morning, noon, and night,- was cigarette smoke. The hotel is in need of major repair. My " in room" hair dryer did not work, and I never got a replacement. Noisy. Pilliows were very uncomforgtable. Sheets were less than clean. Not enough outlets for electronics.
Sorry,but I will not be going back to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Mylene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 200 N Green Bay Rd, Grand Ave & Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waukegan Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Ramada Inn Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing