We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Naval Academy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here with my family for our son's graduation from the US Navy. Our parents stayed here as well in two other rooms. They are in the middle of renovating which is good because it could use a facelift. However, it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was more than helpful anytime we needed anything. Checking in was sweet as they knew we were there for our son's graduation which they took the time to acknowledge with information sheets and tiny little extra touch. I would definitely stay here again. I'm sure it's even nicer now with the pool open. They have a pretty good breakfast there by the way, complimentary. We ate there every morning. Plenty enough choices for everyone. The breakfast, lounge area is nice with a large flat screen tv. They also have a little 'store' in case you need something, like wine! :]
I definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Our room was large. We had a king size bed, and then our daughter's stayed in an attached separa...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MomCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 206 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were fortunate to get reservations at the Marriott Waukegan/Gurnee for our grandson's graduation from the Naval Station at Great Lakes. We arrived well past midnight and the room was missing the pull out couch but a phone call to the front desk had the folks deliver a bed to us within minutes. As it was extremely cold and windy they had extra blankets and towels ready.

Disappointed that they did not have a breakfast for the guests as is true at other Residence Inns we have stayed at. They are in the process of remodeling and upgrading their rooms.

The staff was helpful regarding our questions regarding the graduation ceremony. For those going to Great Lakes Naval Station there are shuttle buses/taxis at $3.00/person to the base. No need to hastle with getting a car on the base.

The weather was brutal. The strong winds and rain made it uncomfortable for those of us used to cold weather. Bring extra sweaters if you are headed there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for a family members naval graduation and it was a very nice place to stay! Very clean and roomy. Convenient location, friendly staff, all around great place! Great continental breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Lynette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hello Lynette I,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your review on our hotel. Our team was very happy to hear they were successful in providing you a positive guest experience. Congratuations to you all on your Sailor's graduation. We truly enjoy being a part of such a proud moment in your lives. Please extend our sincerest gratitude for their service to our country. We look forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you back to our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Three separate (unconnected) buildings surround a small central courtyard/ pool a few steps away:

• Two, 3-story buildings house guests (120+ suites).

• Gatehouse (3rd building) holds: lobby, breakfast/ dinner buffets, "business center" (computer & printer in seated area across from brochures/ maps), & tiny exercise room.

• Central courtyard has pool & outdoor seats/ tables for dining. Likely lovely in warmer months when outdoor swimming & dining is practical. In colder months (dead of winter), more of a practical joke. In few steps dashing from one building to another, you can flash freeze. (Never mind rain, snow, wind.)


In Which Building is My Room?
------------------------------------------
When you first arrive & exit Gatehouse (through courtyard) to return to your room in one of 2 separate guest buildings, remember *which* building you exited from: one on pool side with steps at door entrance or one without steps at entrance.

If you're travel weary/ disoriented, it's easy to enter wrong building & wander hall looking for your room. [No external (or internal) unique features/ decor help you distinguish between the 2 clone-like guest buildings. No visual cues as to which building your room is in -- only indicator is your room key won't work. (No identifiers such as "A" or "B" outside building; no room numbers such as A101 or B101 inside building.)] Avoid Twilight Zone-like experience by orienting yourself pronto.


"Are You Kidding Me" Factor
---------------------------------------
Nothing like a brisk slap in the face to wake you up.

In a colder clime (such as Chicago, Waukegan, Gurnee IL) where many months are cool/ cold, whoever decided to have:
-- outdoor pool, hot tub
-- 3 separate, UNconnected buildings (no awning, no enclosed catwalk, no tunnel)
must have had a mischievous sense of humour indeed.

Despite the few steps (through pleasant central courtyard) to reach any of the 3 buildings, the cold air blasting your face first thing each morning (breakfast time) & last thing each evening (dinner time), is a rude beginning & end to a day.

Unless you're acclimated to a cold windy clime, bundle up & dash. (Probably perfectly comfortable in warmer months; just be aware if booking in colder months.)


Conveniences
-------------------
• Prompt/ early breakfast set-up (on or before 6:30 weekdays) allows you to not miss breakfast if you have to be on road early.

• Evening meals 4 weekday nights (Mon-Thur), so you don't have to drive out to get food. (Much appreciated if tired from long day and/or on tight budget.)

• Excellent commute if you're working in nearby corporate/ office/ business park. (Brief drive -- even walk in nice weather.)

• Free on-site, self-parking; no difficulty finding spot.


1-Bedroom Suite (Queen Bed) on 3rd Floor
----------------------------------------------------------
Smallish, 1-bedroom suite -- comfortable for 1 person, cozy for 2, crowded for 3.

• Living room: separate kitchen table & desk to spread out. Enough outlets for multiple gadgets. Free Internet/ WiFi; no hardwire connection. (WiFi worked fine most days except 1; kept dropping out & had to repeatedly re-connect.)

• Kitchenette: smallish kitchen sink; working garbage disposal; clean cookware (stainless steel pots/ pans) & glass Pyrex bowls. Loud dishwasher; run when out of room. Full-size fridge with working icemaker.

• 2 smallish, swivel LCD TVs (digital HDTV & analog stations) -- proportional for living room & bedroom. (Swivel/ aim TV to wherever you're sitting; desk, sofa, kitchen table.)

• Small bedroom with squishy soft queen bed. But, sofa in living room is firm (not expanded out as bed).

• Bathroom: low set bathroom sink (in bedroom, just outside bathroom door). OK if you're petite height/ child. Low placed shower head; easily reach up to adjust setting. (If tall, crouch or set shower head at more horizontal angle & step back.) Wide tub. Clean shower curtain liner. Allow time for warm/ hot water to flow through pipes; test before hopping into shower to avoid brisk awakening. Loud bathroom fan; fortunately separate from light switch, so don't have to turn fan on at all.

• Heating/ cooling system worked without a hitch.

• Navy blue carpet appeared in good condition -- dark enough to hide any stains.

• View of gatehouse roof. (At night, outdoor light directly above living room window, & one directly below bedroom window; thankful for black-out curtains.)

• Close to elevator & stairs, so brief walk to gatehouse. (Saw only 1 small elevator for building; holds maybe 4 people comfortably, 6 in sardine fashion, 12 stacked.)


Atypical, But Not Problematic
---------------------------------------
• Missing strip of colored cloth at foot of bed. (1st RI visited that didn't have the ubiquitous cloth.)

• Oversized ironing board cover. (After trying to iron out crumpled up ironing board cover, try ironing your shirts.)

• No arms on desk chair; can see holes where arms are supposed to be. (Another 1st.)

• Only 1 (small) dinner plate (& 4 tiny plates), missing silverware.

• Relatively quiet setting. Accoustics peculiarity -- at times could hear people talking outside building in courtyard. (Sound bouncing off bldg walls?)

• Called down to front desk for towels -- none delivered. (Perhaps delivered to parallel universe room in other guest building.)


Minor Moans to Grumbles
-----------------------------------
• Couldn't find a luggage trolly/ cart. (Inconvenient if traveling with equipment/ non-piggy-backing suitcases.) Have to make a few trips. (Later in day saw used sheets & towels piled onto 2 luggage trolleys. Maybe housekeeping didn't have access to laundry carts, so resorted to using luggage carts.)

• Hint of bleach/ chlorine scent on sheets (not overwhelming) & dissipated over time. (Know sheets are germ-free.)

• Well-worn cabinetry, tables, end tables, bureaus overdue for replacing -- but functional. If functionality (not aesthetics) is priority, lack of eye appeal is non-issue. Lengthy crack on bathroom tile floor -- as if something heavy crashed down causing crack line through row of tiles.

• No black binder containing RI info, but calendar/ menu on fridge had necessary info. (LARGER size type would ease readability.)


Guest-Centric Niceties & Other Positives
------------------------------------------------------
• List of nearby restaurants noting: food type, directions, approximate drive time, & price range ($ - $$$$), phone #. (Much appreciated *useful* details -- when you're tired, hungry, & just don't have energy to begin food hunt. Wish all hotels would note such pertinent info on restaurant list.)

• Each Gatehouse breakfast table had creamer/ sugars on it; nice touch. (Don't recall seeing at other RIs.) Minimizes logjam at coffee/ tea station each morning. (Another smart detail other RIs could follow.)

• Tiny exercise room: 1 elliptical, 2 treadmills, 1 bike, weights. Built-in TV screens, bring your own earbuds/ headsets (didn't see any provided). Had towels, wet wipes, & water. TV channels (30 stations) posted on laminated card on each exercise machine. (Never saw channel list at other RIs; yet another detail to appreciate.) Also, grateful for indoor gym -- no matter how miniscule -- on cold, blustery days.

• Each guest building has Guest Laundry on 2nd floor: 2 washers ($1.50), 4 dryers ($1.50), & detergent/ dryer sheets ($1.50 each) vending machine.

• After work/ dinner walk in corporate/ business/ office complex (paved walkway on S. Lakeside Dr.) in more temperate season/ weather. (Where paved walkway ends on one side of street, walkway continues on other side. Depending on time of year, gaggles of geese gather on grassy areas/ small ponds -- leaving little remnants for you to hopscotch around. See ducks floating in various small ponds throughout complex: lovely, peaceful. Approx. 3 mile walk/ jog (round trip) from RI (along S. Lakeside Dr.) to Martin Luther King (MLK) Dr..)

• Depending on traffic (I-94/ I-294) approx. 45 minutes (30 mi./ 48 km) to Chicago O'Hare International Airport (ORD) & Downtown Chicago.


Free Breakfast (Every Morning)
--------------------
(6:30-9:30am Mon-Fri; 7-10am Sat, Sun)

• Promptly set up by 6:30 -- each & every morning. No waiting; wonderfully convenient if setting off early.

• Standard quality hot & cold RI breakfast foods with minimal hot item variety/ rotation: scrambled eggs, meats (ham, sausage patty), potatoes every day -- day after day. Only 2 variations over several days: burrito, egg McMuffin. Also, oatmeal with topping choices: raisins, walnuts, brown sugar. (Lack of variety may be non-issue if occasional or short-term guest; if long-term/ repeat guest can be disheartening. *Any* variation from routine RI foods is appreciated.)

• Identical fruit (thawed frozen blueberries & pineapple) ever single day -- day after day. (Rotating cut fruit choices (cantaloupe, honeydew, fresh in-season fruit) would be welcomed.) Also, bananas, apples if you're eating on the go.

• No plain unsweetened yogurt (vanilla came closest) with lots of sugary/ fruity ones. Make your own yoghurt parfait by adding granola & blueberries -- but still too sweet. (Plain, unsweetened, Greek yoghurt would be preferable.)

• Thankful for whole grain bread -- not faux, carmel-coloured stuff. (Typical starchy, carby, sugary: white breads, muffins, etc.) Cold cereals on shelf above bread/ toaster station.

• Length of sideboard/ serving counter area with well thought-out use of space & attention to detail. Only major kludge is 4 hot serving trays with lids: awkwardly trying to reach 2 back trays, removing/ clanging hot lid & looking for somewhere to place lid, while scooping hot food onto plate you're balancing in other hand -- then, trying to replace lid onto back tray. (Poor hot-food layout needs a re-think.)

• Smallish but airy dining area -- plenty of space between tables, so you don't feel on top of one another. (Overflow seating in courtyard outside in nice weather.)


Free Dinner (4 Weekday Evenings)
----------------
(5:30-7:30pm on Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur)

• Standard (to substandard) no-frills hot & cold dinners (but sustaining):

-- Meatloaf, mash, corn, & salad. [Salad consists solely of lettuce (not even shredded carrot, purple cabbage for color). Lovely, fresh, & green as the chopped lettuce was, never seen (anywhere) lettuce served as "salad." (Yet had 2 types of dressings.) Other nights (if there was salad) you might spot a tomato. Kid you not. (No cukes, no peppers, no veg, no cheese, no croutons -- no nothing.) Bare minimum.]

-- Make your own sandwiches: sliced ham, turkey, roast beef. Shredded lettuce, tomato, cheese, condiments (mayo, mustard, ketchup) on white sesame seed buns; no pickles.

-- Standard, repetitive sides of bland: potato salad, macaroni salad, potato chips.

• If a routine RI guest who's tired of mid-week hamburger/ hot dog routine (of many RIs), you may be happier with: sloppy joes, chicken sandwiches, veggie burgers.

• Choose between red or white wine. (Don't recall any other beverages such as iced tea, lemonade, or sodas. Also, no desserts. May be blip if traveling with youngsters.)

• Upside: if a weary traveller, Spartan dinners can fill you. You may appreciate minimalist meals by not having to drive out for food each & every evening. (Save significant $ too -- particularly if feeding several family members.)

• Observation: food wasn't out by 5:30; set-up began 5 to 10 minutes later. (Short on staff?) In meantime, guests trickled in & either sat and waited or left Gatehouse. (Just be aware if you don't want to stand around waiting.) If you arrive well into dinner time, don't expect much to remain. (Once food's gone, it's gone.) Replenishment appears sporadic. Try to time arrival just right.


Recommend for Warmer Seasons
and/or The Cold-Weather Hardened
------------------------------------------------
Started out liking this RI, but as days progressed & irritations surfaced one after another -- became cumulatively annoyed. Yet, for some bizarre reason still *liked* this RI. Perhaps small considerations (creamers on gatehouse tables, TV channel laminated cards in gym, list of eateries with pertinent details, prompt breakfasts) softens one to overlook quirks -- no matter how petty or egregious.

If had to spend more time in Waukegan/ Gurnee would split visit between RI & another hotel -- just to have meal variety & be able to sleep on firm bed. Contradictorily, still like this hotel for *proximity* to work & *savings* on meals (even though dinners are bare bones & breakfasts are unvarying). Good RI if on tight budget. (If refurbished, could be so much better.)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank gnomemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have been in the Residence Inn in Waukegan several times now within the last 6 years. The suites offer a lot of space and are very comfortable and clean. With the small, well equipped kitchen you have everything you need in your room, even during longer stays.
I read in other comments that the mattress is too soft. Yes, it is very soft, and I personally also prefer harder beds. Nevertheless, I still think the beds are very good.
Staff was always friendly, especially during breakfast. The breakfast is also very good and provides a good choice of things. The "social hours"/dinner are nothing special... but there are some simple meals offered during weekdays, which is helpful if you are travelling alone and don't want to go to a restaurant on your own.
There might be more modern and stylish Hotels in this area, but I think the residence Inn is really nice.
I would always go there again if I am in this area!

Room Tip: Suites that are in the upper floors and do not have windows in direction of the street are more quie...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank migi1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Migi1978,
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your positive experiences over the past 6 years. I've shared your feedback with our associates and we're thrilled we've consistently provided the level of service you've come to expect. You'll be happy to know we've been focusing efforts on our evening socials recently. Our plans are to test various events in an effort to keep them fresh and enjoyed by all guests. As well, following our renovation the first part of 2013, we're positive you'll be commenting that we are the most stylish hotel in the area. We look forward to your return and thank you for your continued loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent space, service and wonderful food! Homey feel versus hotel feel! Recommend it highly! We came for our daughters boot camp graduation. Would definitely recommend and will stay again if visiting . Staff very responsive to any concerns or requests!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thanks so much for your fabulous recommendation RonnaJ. Congratulations on your daughters Navy graduation. That is quite an accomplishment. We look forward to seeing you again during future trips to our area. Happy Holidays to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the Residence Inn for my sister's Navy graduation weekend. Rooms have a great amount of space. They are a little behind the times with decor but its so convenient to have the sitting area and kitchen with dishes and silverware. Breakfasts were delicious and the staff was very helpful with questions we had.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sklouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Sklouda, Thank you for taking time to send your comments. We're happy to hear your experience was a positive one. We know how proud you must be of your sister having successfully graduating from the Navy. Our team is excited to inform you that all guest rooms and public space are scheduled to begin renovation in mid-January. The new product will be amazing so please come back to see us again. We wish your sister all the best in her future endeavors. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Address: 1440 S White Oak Dr, Waukegan, IL 60085-8300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Waukegan
#3 Business Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range: $131 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on Long StaysThe Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee offers superb convenience and comfort among Waukegan and Gurnee, Illinois hotels. Choose from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites at this hotel, with separate living, dining and sleeping areas. Work comfortably at your spacious desk with voice mail and free high-speed internet, and take advantage of your fully-equipped kitchen with our complimentary grocery shopping service. Start your day right with our daily free hot breakfast, and join us Monday through Thursday for a complimentary light dinner social, featuring our Manager's Barbeque on Wednesdays. Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee is located minutes from the Great Lakes Naval Training Center, major corporations, Six Flags® Great America and Hurricane Harbor theme parks, fine shopping at Gurnee Mills or Premium Outlet Malls and a mix of history and fun at Bristol Renaissance Faire or in Historic Long Grove. Welcome to our little piece of Chicago at Residence Inn Waukegan/Gurnee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan / Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Residence Inn Waukegan
Waukegan Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing