We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Waukegan Gurnee
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Reviewed July 9, 2014

When I stayed I had terrible service, the rooms were not clean and the television was broken
I was not treated with respect and it was just terrible all around! I recommend to everyone NOT to stay this hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 122 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

DO NOT stay at this hotel. The first room was do dirty I asked for another and it was just as bad as the first.there was what looked to be blood stains on the walls, "clean" towels were not clean, there was some kind of slime in the sink and I had to wipe down the shower before I could use it! Continental breakfast looked like it had been there for weeks so needless to say I didn't touch it. The place was so bad I filed a complaint with the BBB.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is fine for a quick stay & sleep location, nothing long term and the breakfast could've been a lot better but the staff were super friendly!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Christy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Do not waste your time or money staying here. This place is the absolute worst. It is terribly maintained, the manager is rude, and seems to be a place frequently used by prostitutes.

My fiance and I stopped here. We were treated rudely. The key to our room did not work. We were given a new key, and that didnt work either... The front desk person tried to use his master key... that didnt work either...the manager tried to us his key, and it didnt work either. Because they were unable to open the door to the room, they were unwillingly to provide us another room. The manager became very irritated and began raising his voice at my fiance... things almost escalated out of control.

I strongly recommend that you do not stay at this Days Inn. The people are very rude, the property is poorly managed, dirty, and run down.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Curtis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

All of the staff at the desk were very nice. The property was horrible. Stinks like smoke, carpet was old, mold on the shower curtain, towels thin and dingy, AC was loud, dust so thick on top of the TV cabinet that a previous guest had written a quick note in it before they left! I am not sure, but I think there was blood splatter on the wall! The rate was reasonable, but I would never stay there again, even if it was free.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel was listed in a brochure I received from the Navy bootcamp center. Because of its closeness to the base, we decided to stay there. In the brochure the price was listed half of what we paid. For a $105.00 a night, we got a crappy hotel. It was old, dingy, and dirty. Actually dirty is an understatement. The first thing you see is the tore-up parking lot. big crater-like holes. Then the lobby has patch holes and dirty everything: walls, floors, furniture, carpets, etc. The rooms are no better. The carpets are filthy, there was mold in the bathroom, and the walls were all patched up. It was the most shabbiest place I've ever stayed at and for the money, not worth it. It was as if the owners just don't care about the place or its appearance. And it's sad, because a lot of families go there to see their loved ones graduate from Navy bootcamp and have to stay there. I didn't even want to bring my son back there to rest. It was too gross.
The only thing that redeemed the place was the staff. Terry, Karen and the swing shift guy (I forget his name) were all very kind and helpful.
I suggest staying at another hotel or the Navy Lodge. I heard all some good things about other locations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
2  Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
5.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
5.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
6.2 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Waukegan Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Waukegan Gurnee

Address: 3633 N Lewis Ave, Waukegan, IL 60087-1516 (Formerly Days Inn Waukegan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: $54 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Waukegan Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Waukegan Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waukegan
Waukegan Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing