We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Waukegan Gurnee
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I wouldnt recommend a stay here.
Terrible service, the front office lady literally shouts at me.
The lobby stinks,though the board says no smoking.
No one comes for house keeping.
The quilt isTORN..
Breakfast..the so called...is mere nonsense..
All stale stuffs are kept...
Staff is not atall friendly..
Would never ever stay again even if offered free of cost..
Not at all worth..
Plz dont stay...

Room Tip: Do not stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Div S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

For my daughters Birthday we decided an over night trip to Great America - being a single parent I decided to try and save a little money and book a room with Hotwire.com -I requested a room for 2 adults 1 child. We arrived at the hotel and it was tired looking building, upon entry to the lobby it was old, dingy and dark. The check out lady was not friendly - looked up my reservation and tried to give me a Queen single for me, my boyfriend and my daughter! I handed her the print out of my reservation and it clearly said 3 people - she than commented on how Hotwire ALWAYS screws things up and proceeded to YELL for someone - when that someone wouldn't come she left to run upstairs to get her manager who came down, handed me a piece of paper to sign and said I could have a double bed room. THAN..upon when I originally made the reservation I was not sure if my daughters friend would be able to come with us so not thinking it made a difference since i was booking for TWO beds -- so the 2nd part of the terrible experience came when we went to go to our room, the hallway smelled like spray deoderant, it was dark, dingy and the room key didn't work - and suddenly there was a foreign women barreling down the hallway screaming at me that I had to pay xtra for the 4th person - I have NEVER stayed at a hotel that charged by person! 2 beds = 4 people any where else I have stayed using Priceline.com!!! The hostility from the women alone was totally uncustomer friendly - I felt so attacked by her hostility over $20 for my daughters friend that we left...walked away from the $63 room! I will never use another "deal" website to book a hotel room....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tllarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

When I was checking in I was told that I couldnt check in because it was to early . I knew when my flight landed so I had called in advance to make sure if I stayed there I could check in early and front desk said yes that it would be a $20 charge to do so and I was fine with that, I told the front desk worker and she said 40$. I explained I had already called so then she says 30$. I said I havnt had breakfast so I would talk to my partner and be back,then she said go eat when you get back only 20$???? Got back 1 1/2 hours later got room key and the whole loby smelled of "purple sticky punch" well it just so happned she gave me the room key of,,,yes, the smoker of the "wacky tabaky"! I know right? Can you believe that? What was the odds? Well needless to say this guy was as shocked as we were when we entered his room. So, we got our room. BADLY needs renivation. Dirty and someone had spit a lougy on the ceiling. I had to come to the naval training center and will have to come back over the next year. I WILL NEVER STAY AT THAT DAYS INN AGAIN AND WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE ELSE STAY.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5FishingStooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed at the Waukegan Days Inn for 3 nights and our stay was great. Room was clean and well taken care of. Staff was friendly and took care of our check-in and check-out quickly and efficiently. Housekeeping was done every day, contrary to old reviews you may read. Basically, everything about our stay was great. We would definitely go back and would definitely recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 155032Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Don't let bad reviews from 2005-06 scare you off! We stayed from a Friday to a Monday and had no problems at all. Staff was friendly, and spoke with us every time we left or came back from our adventures. The room was clean, with more electrical outlets than many hotel rooms I've spent double for. (When everyone in the room has a cell phone or laptop or digital camera to charge, this is important!) Our biggest complaint during the entire stay was that the shower seems to be designed for short people, and we are all tall. Sure, this isn't a 5-star hotel, but it's a great deal for the price and I will book us a room here the next time we return to the area!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medievaloracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

There are a lot of options in this area. Our stay here was one which had many negatives and only a few pluses. The check-in was great (staff), but the people hanging out near the entry made me very nervous. They seemed the criminal type, and looked as though they were checking out people arriving. The room left a lot to be desired, but was average. We picked this location because it is centrally located to where we needed to be for the conference and meetings (Lake Bluff on day one and Kenosha on day two). The nighttime noise level was a bit much, although some hotels are like that. No sign of prostitution or illegal activities in the hotel at any time, just outside the front door. As we were leaving the paramedics were arriving which also seemed odd, but emergencies happen and we were within 10 minutes of a cancer treatment center with major outpatient populations. Overall, it was a good deal for the price, but there are better options out there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernMedic06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Do Not Stay!!! My mom and I stayed here for my brother's Navy Graduation. We were looking for a "value" since the main reason we were there was to spend time with him and it was expensive to go in the first place. The room should have been about $28 a night. There was no quality at all!!! We booked for 4 nights and had to leave after 3, and that was really pushing it. We were told that there would be no refunds and they charged my credit card the full amount the moment we walked in (and not the same price as my internet receipt said). All night long we listened to people having sex and listening to porn movies next door. The doors all through the hall were opening and closing all night long and you could hear everything that was being said, including the paying for sex. As others have said, the people there were sketchy, creepy, and you felt unsafe. The Days Inn Book that was in our room was covered with writing from former customers stating how poor the room was and people were.
When we decided to check out and tell the front desk what had been happening through the night, they told us "we hadn't called to complain". Never did we feel safe to make a complaint. They also told us that the same good customers come each night looking for a King size bed. Enough said. I urge anyone who has stayed to file a complaint with Days Inn Customer Service. They need to be shut down!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cougfan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days_Inn_owner, Owner at Travelodge Waukegan Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2008

In response to the guest that wrote a review, "File A Complaint!!!!": We have a strict policy against prostitution in our establishment. Anyone is welcome to contact that the Waukegan Police Department and ask if there has ever been an incident of prostitution at this Days Inn.
Furthermore, we have reason to believe that "cougfan27" never stayed at our hotel because we have no guests on record (from past 2 years since new management took over) from the state of Washington ever.
Moreover, our rates have never been as low as $ 28. Please check our rates from all 3rd party internet booking sites and/or Daysinn.com and one will discover that we do not charge such a low rate at all.
It seems that "cougfan27" joined TripAdvisor for the express purpose of writing this review as they wrote the review the same day they joined the community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
5.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
5.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Waukegan Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Waukegan Gurnee

Address: 3633 N Lewis Ave, Waukegan, IL 60087-1516 (Formerly Days Inn Waukegan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: $54 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Waukegan Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Waukegan Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waukegan
Waukegan Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing